Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor
on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Legends, Myths, Fables, Young Adult
Pages: 544
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.
What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N | INDIEBOUND

Am I the only one here who wishes they could spend a day in Laini Taylor’s mind? She creates such gorgeous and vivid imagery with her words, and the ideas that spring forth are so exquisite. But for now, I guess we’ll have to settle for her amazing books and Pinterest boards.

I share this post with you today, with a fair word of warning. You are going to NEED this book in your life when I am done here. Honestly, chances are you’ve already pre-ordered “Strange the Dreamer” because Laini Taylor is a literary goddess and you must have all her words. But, if this one inexplicably isn’t on your radar yet, keep reading for all of the reasons it should be.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}”

five-stars
Sarah

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn EvesBlood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1) by Rosalyn Eves
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to debut another new feature here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I’ll feature an upcoming release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Rosalyn Eves‘ upcoming debut, “Blood Rose Rebellion“!

Continue reading “{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves”

Sarah

“Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & Giveaway

“Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & GiveawayStranger Than Fanfiction by Chris Colfer
on February 28th 2017
Genres: Death & Dying, Emotions & Feelings, Mental Health Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Colfer comes a funny, heartbreaking, unforgettable novel about friendship and fame.

Cash Carter is the young, world famous lead actor of the hit television show Wiz Kids. When four fans jokingly invite him on a cross-country road trip, they are shocked that he actually takes them up on it. Chased by paparazzi and hounded by reporters, this unlikely crew takes off on a journey of a lifetime – but along the way they discover that the star they love has deep secrets he's been keeping. What they come to learn about the life of the mysterious person they thought they knew will teach them about the power of empathy and the unbreakable bond of true friendship.

In this touching novel, #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Colfer takes us on a journey full of laughter, tears, and life-changing memories.

Happy Friday, friends! Today, I’m teaming up with my friends at Little, Brown to share this epic giveaway featuring the newest book from Chris Colfer (YAY, Glee!), “Stranger than Fanfiction”! This new release features a celebrity and four of his fans embarking on a cross-country road trip and all the adventures they have along the way. What starts out as a crazy adventure, turns into a much deeper experience filled with revelations and lessons learned.

I thought it would be fun to map out my own cross-country road trip…but with a twist. So check out the YA across the USA I’ve mapped out below and buckle up! It’s gonna be a feels-filled ride! Continue reading ““Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & Giveaway”

Sarah

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn HamiltonTraitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands, #2) by Alwyn Hamilton
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on March 7th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The sizzling, un-put-downable sequel to the bestselling Rebel of the Sands!

Mere months ago, gunslinger Amani al'Hiza fled her dead-end hometown on the back of a mythical horse with the mysterious foreigner Jin, seeking only her own freedom. Now she's fighting to liberate the entire desert nation of Miraji from a bloodthirsty sultan who slew his own father to capture the throne.

When Amani finds herself thrust into the epicenter of the regime—the Sultan's palace—she's determined to bring the tyrant down. Desperate to uncover the Sultan's secrets by spying on his court, she tries to forget that Jin disappeared just as she was getting closest to him, and that she's a prisoner of the enemy. But the longer she remains, the more she questions whether the Sultan is really the villain she's been told he is, and who’s the real traitor to her sun-bleached, magic-filled homeland.

Forget everything you thought you knew about Miraji, about the rebellion, about djinni and Jin and the Blue-Eyed Bandit. In Traitor to the Throne, the only certainty is that everything will change.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Happy Tuesday, friends! Do you know what today is? If you’re anything like me you’ve had this date marked on your calendar for a while now! Not only is it new release Tuesday, but it’s the book birthday for “Traitor to the Throne” by Alwyn Hamilton. You may already know how much I loved the first book in this series, “Rebel of the Sands” (read my review here) and hopefully you saw my recent post on the reasons why I love main character, Amani. But, today, I’m here to tell you all the reasons why I LOVE Traitor even MORE than I love Rebel.

Traitor to the Throne

Continue reading “Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie GarberCaraval (Caraval, #1) by Stephanie Garber
Published by Flatiron Books on January 31st 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Thrillers & Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems.

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance where the audience participates in the show.

Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure.

And for Scarlett and her beloved sister Tella it represents freedom and an escape from their ruthless, abusive father.

When the sisters' long-awaited invitations to Caraval finally arrive, it seems their dreams have come true. But no sooner have they arrived than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show's mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But nonetheless she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.

A mesmerising, magical and stunningly imaginative debut novel for anyone who loved The Night Circus and Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

AMAZON / Barnes & NOBLE / INDIE BOUND / BOOK DEPOSITORY

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Ohhhh, friends! This is a GOOD one! Seriously! You’re going to want to add this to your TBR right now! Caraval releases today (Happy book birthday, Stephanie Garber) and let’s be real, there’s been some serious hype! This amazing debut novel features a magical and dangerous game that leaves its participants forever changed and I’m here to tell you…the hype is real!

I LOVED THIS BOOK…

Continue reading “Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica CluessA Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, #1) by Jessica Cluess
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on September 20th 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Henrietta can burst into flames.

Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she’s shocked when instead of being executed, she’s named the first female sorcerer in hundreds of years and invited to train as one of Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the prophesied one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta is not the chosen one.

As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city—and the one she loves?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

a-shadow-bright-and-burning

I was hooked from the moment I started reading A Shadow Bright and Burning. It’s a perfect mix of magic, feminism, squad goals, swoon and monsters. There were so many things to love and they all came together in a perfect blend of an epic fantasy story about self-discovery. Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess”

four-stars
Sarah

Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}

Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends on November 8th 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king's marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

First things first! Can we please just take a moment and let the following information sink in…

THERE ARE ONLY 35 DAYS TILL HEARTLESS!!

That’s right, only 35 days until we are gifted with a brand new book from the amazing Marissa Meyer! I am a huge fan of the Lunar Chronicles, so I was beyond thrilled when I heard Marissa was writing a new book. But when I found out it was an origin story of the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, my excitement went to a whole new level!

heartless-9-19-16-1024x512

We all know how deliciously evil the Queen of Hearts is, and to get a glimpse of her past and what made her into the evil queen we all know and love. Actually, not sure love is the right word but you know what I mean.

I’m so thrilled to be a part of the blog tour for ‘Heartless” and am equally as thrilled to be sharing my mood board and review with you. Be sure to scroll to the end and check out the countdown to Heartless challenge. Continue reading “Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}”

Sarah

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati
Published by Delacorte Press on October 11th 2016
Genres: Family, Social Issues, Suicide, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Catherine Pulaski knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the devastating depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disorder, almost triumphed once; that was her first suicide attempt. 
Being bipolar is forever. It never goes away. The med du jour might work right now, but Zero will be back for her. It’s only a matter of time.

And so, in an old ballet-shoe box, Catherine stockpiles medications, preparing to take her own life before Zero can inflict its living death on her again. Before she goes, though, she starts a short bucket list.

The bucket list, the support of her family, new friends, and a new course of treatment all begin to lessen Catherine’s sense of isolation. The problem is, her plan is already in place, and has been for so long that she might not be able to see a future beyond it.

This is a story of loss and grief and hope, and how some of the many shapes of love—maternal, romantic, and platonic—affect a young woman’s struggle with mental illness and the stigma of treatment.

Happy Monday, friends…hope you all had a fabulous weekend! I’m here to make your Monday just a little bit more wonderful with this fantastic interview with Karen Fortunati, the author of ‘The Weight of Zero’. Her debut novel has been getting some amazing reviews and serious buzz among the bookish world. Check it out…

  • A Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce Selection
  • Featured in SEVENTEEN MAGAZINE, September 2016
  • A Barnes and Noble 2016 Most Anticipated Debut
  • An Amazon Editors Favorite YA Book for Fall 2016
  • A Shelf Awareness BEA2016 Buzz Book

“Catherine’s acerbically witty narrative voice is razor sharp and often raw, and the confessional tone of her present-tense narration makes clear how overwhelming her pain is…. An honest, informative, and ultimately optimistic novel about living with mental illness.” – Kirkus

Continue reading “The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}

Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor
Published by Roaring Brook Press on August 23rd 2016
Genres: Family, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 224
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In this affecting debut novel, a child actor struggles to find herself on a film set where only one thing matters: getting the money shot.

Joss Byrd is America's most celebrated young actress, and her next project is a hot new Indie film helmed by a renowned, charismatic director. But on the set of The Locals, Joss's life is far from glamorous. Her mother is domineering and relentless, her dyslexia makes it difficult to keep up with the constantly changing script, the boy playing her older brother doesn't seem to reciprocate Joss's crush, and the film's gritty subject matter terrifies her. Yet none of these things appear to matter to Joss's agent, director, or even her mother. Joss is just a cash cow, and no one cares what she has to do for the perfect shot-as long as she gets it somehow.

Author Lygia Day Peñaflor's draws on her firsthand experience as a private academic teacher for young Hollywood stars in this affecting debut novel that explores the many demands made on young actors.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What a perfect way to kick off the end of summer with some beach themed quote art. I paired the images below with quotes from Lygia Day Peñaflor’s recent debut release, “Unscripted Joss Byrd”. This book was a surprisingly honest and refreshing portrayal of young Hollywood,  and perfect for the younger YA or older MG reader who want to get a sneak peek of what really happens behind the scenes.

For my blog tour post today, I thought it would be fun to take some of the more memorable quotes from the book and pair them with images that reminded me of the beachy setting of the story. By now, you probably know how much I love finding images that evoke a theme or feeling found in a book I’ve recently read, so I hope you enjoy this quote art I created for “Unscripted Joss Byrd”. Oh…and don’t miss out on all of the rest of the tour stops! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Game On by Michelle Smith {Playlist & Giveaway}

Blog Tour: Game On by Michelle Smith {Playlist & Giveaway}Game On (Lewis Creek, #2) by Michelle Smith
Published by Bloomsbury Spark on August 16th 2016
Genres: Love & Romance, Romance, Sports, Young Adult
Pages: 328
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

As king of baseball in the small town of Lewis Creek, Eric Perry can have any girl he wants and win every game he plays. But when a fight lands him in jail, he’s only got one more strike before his baseball career is over for good. His only chance for redemption? The girl next door, Bri Johnson.

Bri hasn’t talked to Eric in months— for starters, she’s been too busy dealing with her jerk of an ex-boyfriend, not to mention the fact that Eric’s been preoccupied trying to drink every keg in the country dry. But when he needs a way to stay on the team, she proposes a plan: if he helps her out with community service, he can stay on the team. At first it’s a nightmare—Eric and Bri stopped being friends years ago, surely that was for a good reason, right? But as volunteering turns to bonding over old memories of first kisses under the stars, they start to have trouble remembering what pushed them apart.

In a town as small as Lewis Creek, nothing stays secret for long and their friendship and romance might mean bad news. But in this final, tumultuous spring before graduation, Eric and Bri are about to realize that nobody’s perfect alone, but they might just be perfect together.

Game On quote3

Happy Wednesday, friends! I’m so excited to be sharing this post with you today, because it features one of my favorite contemporary romances of the year! That’s right, “Game On” by Michelle Smith was released yesterday and I seriously loved this book SO much! It should come as no surprise because I absolutely loved the first book in Smith’s “Lewis Creek” series, “Play On”. I had this to say about “Play On” last year…

“Play On has a lot of depth to it but still finds a way to be a lot of fun to read!  It’s the perfect balance of swoony romance with a thought-provoking and deeply moving story line.”

Everything I loved about “Play On” is what I loved about “Game On”, and I can’t wait to see what other stories Michelle Smith gives us from Lewis Creek. If they’re anything like the first two books, than they’re sure to be just as fantastic. Be sure to keep an eye on my blog, I’ll be sharing my mood board and review of “Game On” very, very soon!

I’m thrilled to be welcoming Michelle Smith to the blog today so she can talk a little bit about the themes and feelings found throughout “Game On”, as well as share an amazing playlist that helped inspire some scenes. So without further ado, I bring you Michelle and her “Game On” playlist! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Game On by Michelle Smith {Playlist & Giveaway}”

four-stars
Sarah