Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia LevensellerDaughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, #1) by Tricia Levenseller
Published by Feiwel & Friends on February 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Pirates, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

This book kind of came out of nowhere for me. I initially noticed it for the cover. It was moody and badass so I mentally added Daughter of the Pirate King to my TBR. Then ALL OF A SUDDEN, my Goodreads and Twitter feeds started blowing up with mentioned of how addictive and fun of a read it was. Fortunately, I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy from the publisher (Thanks, Fierce Reads!!) so I pulled it from my TBR tower and dove right in. I was eager to see what all the excitement was about and if it really was as amazing as everyone was saying it was. So, was it? Keep reading for my answer. But first, as always, check out the epic mood board I created to get you in the piratey mood! YES, I said piratey and YES it’s word. At least it is now.

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

Book Feels Lite: Wayfarer by Alexandra BrackenWayfarer (Passenger, #2) by Alexandra Bracken
Published by Disney-Hyperion on January 3rd 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 532
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

All Etta Spencer wanted was to make her violin debut when she was thrust into a treacherous world where the struggle for power could alter history. After losing the one thing that would have allowed her to protect the Timeline, and the one person worth fighting for, Etta awakens alone in an unknown place and time, exposed to the threat of the two groups who would rather see her dead than succeed.

When help arrives, it comes from the last person Etta ever expected—Julian Ironwood, the Grand Master’s heir who has long been presumed dead, and whose dangerous alliance with a man from Etta’s past could put them both at risk.

Meanwhile, Nicholas and Sophia are racing through time in order to locate Etta and the missing astrolabe with Ironwood travelers hot on their trail. They cross paths with a mercenary-for-hire, a cheeky girl named Li Min who quickly develops a flirtation with Sophia. But as the three of them attempt to evade their pursuers, Nicholas soon realizes that one of his companions may have ulterior motives.

As Etta and Nicholas fight to make their way back to one another, from Imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, time is rapidly shifting and changing into something unrecognizable… and might just run out on both of them.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Friends, this review is woefully, shamefully, embarrassingly late. Especially considering how much I absolutely loved it. “Wayfarer” is the second and final book in a gorgeous duology by Alexandra Bracken. I absolutely adored the first book, “Passenger” (my review), when it released last year which meant that “Wayfarer” was one of most anticipated releases of 2017. So, once again, we ask that age old question…did it live up to my expectations?

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken”

five-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz {Fan Art & Giveaway}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz {Fan Art & Giveaway}Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz
on April 11th 2017
Genres: Historical, Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Witches of East End and The Descendants comes the love story of young Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler.

1777. Albany, New York.

As battle cries of the American Revolution echo in the distance, servants flutter about preparing for one of New York society’s biggest events: the Schuylers’ grand ball. Descended from two of the oldest and most distinguished bloodlines in New York, the Schuylers are proud to be one of their fledgling country’s founding families, and even prouder still of their three daughters—Angelica, with her razor-sharp wit; Peggy, with her dazzling looks; and Eliza, whose beauty and charm rival that of both her sisters, though she’d rather be aiding the colonists’ cause than dressing up for some silly ball.

Still, she can barely contain her excitement when she hears of the arrival of one Alexander Hamilton, a mysterious, rakish young colonel and General George Washington’s right-hand man. Though Alex has arrived as the bearer of bad news for the Schuylers, he can’t believe his luck—as an orphan, and a bastard one at that—to be in such esteemed company. And when Alex and Eliza meet that fateful night, so begins an epic love story that would forever change the course of American history.

In the pages of Alex and Eliza, #1 New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz brings to life the romance of young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N | INDIEBOUND

I fell in love with Hamilton: An American Musical last year, along with half of the human population it seems, and since then have developed an unhealthy obsession with Hamilton-inspired fan art. So, when it came time for me to think up a topic for today’s post for the Alex and Eliza blog tour, I knew I had to share some of my all-time faves! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz {Fan Art & Giveaway}”

Sarah

Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole CastromanBlacksouls (Blackhearts, #2) by Nicole Castroman
Published by Simon Pulse on April 11th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical Fiction, Pirates, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean to life in this vibrant sequel to Blackhearts—the reimagined origin story of history’s most infamous pirate, Blackbeard.

Edward “Teach” Drummond is setting sail to the Caribbean as first mate on the most celebrated merchant ship in the British fleet—until he rebels against his captain. Mutiny is a capital offense and Teach knows it could cost him his life, but he believes it worth the risk in order to save his crew from the attacking Spanish ships.

Sailing on the same blue waters, Anne barely avoids the Spanish attack, making it safely to Nassau. But lawless criminals, corrupt politics, and dangerous intentions fill the crowded streets of this Caribbean port. Soon, Anne discovers that the man entrusted to keep the peace is quite possibly the most treacherous of them all—and he just happens to hold Teach’s fate in his terrifying hands.

Life and death hang in the balance when Teach and Anne are given a dangerous mission. It’s a mission that will test their love, loyalty and devotion, forcing them down a path neither one could have ever imagined.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Not gonna lie, I’ve been looking forward to this book for a LONG time. Ever since I read “Blackhearts” over a year ago and fell in love with Nicole Castroman‘s writing, I’ve been dying to read the sequel. You can read my review of Blackhearts here to see exactly how much I loved it and at the very end you’ll also see how nervous I was that there wouldn’t be a sequel. Thankfully, my worries were put to rest when I heard about “Blacksouls” and all I had to do was WAIT! So, was the wait worth it? Could I possibly love “Blacksouls” as much as I loved “Blackhearts”?

Continue reading “Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather Demetrios

Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather DemetriosFreedom's Slave (Dark Caravan Cycle, #3) by Heather Demetrios
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 608
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

An Empress Fighting for Her CrownAfter three long years in exile, Nalia is ready to return to her homeland and sit on the throne that is rightfully hers. But the gods might have other plans. Forced to endure untold horrors on the journey to Arjinna, Nalia learns that it will take more than cutting down the tyrant Calar to get her crown.

An Army Fighting to SurviveRaif’s return to Arjinna as the commander of the revolution against Calar and her army isn’t as smooth as he’d hoped. Though he has more soldiers than ever before, his love for Nalia is losing him the trust of his comrades...and the war. But little does the resistance know that insurrection is brewing among Calar’s own ranks—and from the one person she trusts the most.

A Land Worth Fighting forArjinna is dying—Calar’s evil experiments with dark magic and the strength of her own psychic powers threaten to destroy the land of the jinn. Is Nalia and Raif’s enduring love enough to transform and rescue their homeland? Will they be willing to save the realm, no matter the cost?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

By now, you may know that I am a big fan of the Dark Caravan Cycle by Heater Demetrios. Exquisite Captive is “a story of passion, of pain and ultimately of the power that can be found in freedom.” and Blood Passage is filled with “precise detailing, inspiring character growth and absolutely gorgeous writing”, making it an equally fabulous sequel. It’s no wonder that I went into the final book in the trilogy with exceedingly high expectations. All I wanted was for Nalia and Raif to finally find happiness after sacrificing so much for their home and for their people. Over the first two books in this series, I’d become invested in the stories of these characters, their lives and their fight for survival.

Continue reading “Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather Demetrios”

five-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor
on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Legends, Myths, Fables, Young Adult
Pages: 544
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.
What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N | INDIEBOUND

Am I the only one here who wishes they could spend a day in Laini Taylor’s mind? She creates such gorgeous and vivid imagery with her words, and the ideas that spring forth are so exquisite. But for now, I guess we’ll have to settle for her amazing books and Pinterest boards.

I share this post with you today, with a fair word of warning. You are going to NEED this book in your life when I am done here. Honestly, chances are you’ve already pre-ordered “Strange the Dreamer” because Laini Taylor is a literary goddess and you must have all her words. But, if this one inexplicably isn’t on your radar yet, keep reading for all of the reasons it should be.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}”

five-stars
Sarah

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn EvesBlood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1) by Rosalyn Eves
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to debut another new feature here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I’ll feature an upcoming release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Rosalyn Eves‘ upcoming debut, “Blood Rose Rebellion“!

Continue reading “{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves”

Sarah

“Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & Giveaway

“Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & GiveawayStranger Than Fanfiction by Chris Colfer
on February 28th 2017
Genres: Death & Dying, Emotions & Feelings, Mental Health Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Colfer comes a funny, heartbreaking, unforgettable novel about friendship and fame.

Cash Carter is the young, world famous lead actor of the hit television show Wiz Kids. When four fans jokingly invite him on a cross-country road trip, they are shocked that he actually takes them up on it. Chased by paparazzi and hounded by reporters, this unlikely crew takes off on a journey of a lifetime – but along the way they discover that the star they love has deep secrets he's been keeping. What they come to learn about the life of the mysterious person they thought they knew will teach them about the power of empathy and the unbreakable bond of true friendship.

In this touching novel, #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Colfer takes us on a journey full of laughter, tears, and life-changing memories.

Happy Friday, friends! Today, I’m teaming up with my friends at Little, Brown to share this epic giveaway featuring the newest book from Chris Colfer (YAY, Glee!), “Stranger than Fanfiction”! This new release features a celebrity and four of his fans embarking on a cross-country road trip and all the adventures they have along the way. What starts out as a crazy adventure, turns into a much deeper experience filled with revelations and lessons learned.

I thought it would be fun to map out my own cross-country road trip…but with a twist. So check out the YA across the USA I’ve mapped out below and buckle up! It’s gonna be a feels-filled ride! Continue reading ““Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & Giveaway”

Sarah

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn HamiltonTraitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands, #2) by Alwyn Hamilton
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on March 7th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The sizzling, un-put-downable sequel to the bestselling Rebel of the Sands!

Mere months ago, gunslinger Amani al'Hiza fled her dead-end hometown on the back of a mythical horse with the mysterious foreigner Jin, seeking only her own freedom. Now she's fighting to liberate the entire desert nation of Miraji from a bloodthirsty sultan who slew his own father to capture the throne.

When Amani finds herself thrust into the epicenter of the regime—the Sultan's palace—she's determined to bring the tyrant down. Desperate to uncover the Sultan's secrets by spying on his court, she tries to forget that Jin disappeared just as she was getting closest to him, and that she's a prisoner of the enemy. But the longer she remains, the more she questions whether the Sultan is really the villain she's been told he is, and who’s the real traitor to her sun-bleached, magic-filled homeland.

Forget everything you thought you knew about Miraji, about the rebellion, about djinni and Jin and the Blue-Eyed Bandit. In Traitor to the Throne, the only certainty is that everything will change.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Happy Tuesday, friends! Do you know what today is? If you’re anything like me you’ve had this date marked on your calendar for a while now! Not only is it new release Tuesday, but it’s the book birthday for “Traitor to the Throne” by Alwyn Hamilton. You may already know how much I loved the first book in this series, “Rebel of the Sands” (read my review here) and hopefully you saw my recent post on the reasons why I love main character, Amani. But, today, I’m here to tell you all the reasons why I LOVE Traitor even MORE than I love Rebel.

Traitor to the Throne

Continue reading “Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie GarberCaraval (Caraval, #1) by Stephanie Garber
Published by Flatiron Books on January 31st 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Thrillers & Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems.

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance where the audience participates in the show.

Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure.

And for Scarlett and her beloved sister Tella it represents freedom and an escape from their ruthless, abusive father.

When the sisters' long-awaited invitations to Caraval finally arrive, it seems their dreams have come true. But no sooner have they arrived than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show's mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But nonetheless she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.

A mesmerising, magical and stunningly imaginative debut novel for anyone who loved The Night Circus and Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

AMAZON / Barnes & NOBLE / INDIE BOUND / BOOK DEPOSITORY

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Ohhhh, friends! This is a GOOD one! Seriously! You’re going to want to add this to your TBR right now! Caraval releases today (Happy book birthday, Stephanie Garber) and let’s be real, there’s been some serious hype! This amazing debut novel features a magical and dangerous game that leaves its participants forever changed and I’m here to tell you…the hype is real!

I LOVED THIS BOOK…

Continue reading “Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber”

five-stars
Sarah