Blog Tour: Renegades by Marissa Meyer

Blog Tour: Renegades by Marissa MeyerRenegades (Renegades, #1) by Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends on November 7th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Young Adult
Pages: 576
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

Secret Identities.
Extraordinary Powers.
She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone...except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice—and in Nova. But Nova's allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

Have no fear…THE RENEGADES are here! Well…ALMOST! Don’t worry though, you’ve got less than two weeks to go until Marissa Meyer‘s epic superhero novel hits shelves, and I am here to tell you it is DEFINITELY worth the wait! Renegades feels like a cross between Marvel and X-Men, but with a fun YA Vibe and super(see what I did there) intriguing storyline.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Renegades by Marissa Meyer”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor {GIVEAWAY}

Blog Tour: Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor {GIVEAWAY}Akata Warrior (Akata Witch, #2) by Nnedi Okorafor
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Magical Realism, Young Adult
Pages: 477
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

A year ago, Sunny Nwazue, an American-born girl Nigerian girl, was inducted into the secret Leopard Society. As she began to develop her magical powers, Sunny learned that she had been chosen to lead a dangerous mission to avert an apocalypse, brought about by the terrifying masquerade, Ekwensu. Now, stronger, feistier, and a bit older, Sunny is studying with her mentor Sugar Cream and struggling to unlock the secrets in her strange Nsibidi book.

Eventually, Sunny knows she must confront her destiny. With the support of her Leopard Society friends, Orlu, Chichi, and Sasha, and of her spirit face, Anyanwu, she will travel through worlds both visible and invisible to the mysteries town of Osisi, where she will fight a climactic battle to save humanity.

Much-honored Nnedi Okorafor, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy awards, merges today’s Nigeria with a unique world she creates. Akata Warrior blends mythology, fantasy, history and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound.

A few months ago I shared a mood board I created for the “Akata Witch” blog tour and I’m so thrilled to be back to celebrate the release of its sequel, “Akata Warrior”. Because both books feature spell-binding magic and legend woven into the story of Sunny and her journey, and I was inspired to do a little research to discover and learn more about West African mythology. What I found was a vast tapestry of stories that helped shape an amazing culture.

P.S. Make sure you read all the way to the end of this post for
a chance to win your very own hardcover copy of
“AKATA WARRIOR”!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor {GIVEAWAY}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}

Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress, #1) by Julie C. Dao
on January 1st 1970
Genres: Asia, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

I’m so excited to be the latest stop on the blog tour for Julie C. Dao‘s debut novel, “Forest of a Thousand Lanterns” . This book is an epic and original retelling of the Evil Queen legend and is every bit as dark and thrilling. This book captured me from the opening pages and I was pulled in to the story of a young woman discovering that her life may hold more than she bargained for. Xifeng is the anti-hero/villain that you love to, well, LOVE. She’s a complicated, determined and multi-faceted character, and reading along as her struggle with her increasingly conflicting feelings was completely addictive.

P.S. Make sure you read all the way to the end of this post for
a chance to win your very own hardcover copy of
“Forest of a thousand lanterns”!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston {GIVEAWAY}

Blog Tour: That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston {GIVEAWAY}That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E.K. Johnston
Published by Dutton Books for Young Readers on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Alternate History, LGBTQ, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

Victoria-Margaret is the crown princess of the empire, a direct descendent of Victoria I, the queen who changed the course of history. The imperial tradition of genetically arranged matchmaking will soon guide Margaret into a politically advantageous marriage. But before she does her duty, she'll have one summer of freedom and privacy in a far corner of empire. Posing as a commoner in Toronto, she meets Helena Marcus, daughter of one of the empire's greatest placement geneticists, and August Callaghan, the heir to a powerful shipping firm currently besieged by American pirates. In a summer of high-society debutante balls, politically charged tea parties, and romantic country dances, Margaret, Helena, and August discover they share an extraordinary bond and maybe a one-in-a-million chance to have what they want and to change the world in the process.

Set in a near-future world where the British Empire never fell and the United States never rose, That Inevitable Victorian Thing is a surprising, romantic, and thought-provoking story of love, duty, and the small moments that can change people and the world.

Welcome friends, to my stop on the blog tour for the newly released “That Inevitable Victorian Thing” by E.K. Johnston. When I read the description for this book I was immediately intrigued as I’ve always been fascinated by Queen Victoria. So to have an alternate history story featuring her descendant, I knew I needed it in my life. I am a huge nerd when it comes to royalty and my fangirl mode goes on serious overdrive when you throw royal marriages in the mix. So, it’s only natural that I would want to feature some of my very favorite royal couples as part of this blog tour. I contained myself and have only listed five couples I adore but, trust me, there are PLENTY more.

P.S. Make sure you read all the way to the end of this post for
a chance to win your very own hardcover copy of
“That Inevitable Victorian Thing”!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston {GIVEAWAY}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Book Buzzin’ featuring A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica Cluess

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Book Buzzin’ featuring A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica CluessA Poison Dark and Drowning (Kingdom on Fire, #2) by Jessica Cluess
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on September 19th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

The magicians want her to lead. The sorcerers want her to lie. The demons want her blood. Henrietta wants to save the one she loves. But will his dark magic be her undoing?

Henrietta doesn’t need a prophecy to know that she’s in danger. She came to London to be named the chosen one, the first female sorcerer in centuries, the one who would defeat the bloodthirsty Ancients. Instead, she discovered a city ruled by secrets. And the biggest secret of all: Henrietta is not the chosen one.

Still, she must play the role in order to keep herself and Rook, her best friend and childhood love, safe. But can she truly save him? The poison in Rook’s system is transforming him into something monstrous as he begins to master dark powers of his own.

So when Henrietta finds a clue to the Ancients’ past that could turn the tide of the war, she persuades Blackwood, the mysterious Earl of Sorrow-Fell, to travel up the coast to seek out strange new weapons. And Magnus, the brave, reckless flirt who wants to win back her favor, is assigned to their mission. Together, they will face monsters, meet powerful new allies, and uncover the most devastating weapon of all: the truth.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to highlight another recent new release here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I feature an upcoming or new release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Jessica Cluess‘ latest novel, “A Poison Dark and Drowning”. The thrilling follow-up to her debit novel of 2016, “A Shadow Bright and Burning”.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Book Buzzin’ featuring A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica Cluess”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu {GIVEAWAY}

Blog Tour: Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu {GIVEAWAY}Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu
Published by Roaring Brook Press on September 19th 2017
Genres: Emotions & Feelings, Girls & Women, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
five-stars

Moxie girls fight back!

Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her small-town Texas high school that thinks the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes and hallway harassment. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.

Viv’s mom was a punk rock Riot Grrrl in the ’90s, so now Viv takes a page from her mother’s past and creates a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She’s just blowing off steam, but other girls respond. Pretty soon Viv is forging friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, and she realizes that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.

From the moment I started reading this book I KNEW I was going to end up loving it! When the time came for me to create a post to share with you for the MOXIE blog tour, I knew I wanted to do some thing fun and different that I could tie back to the book. One of my favorite parts of MOXIE were the zines that Viv created that were shared throughout the story. I decided I’d take a chance and try to create my very own zine just like Viv did as a way of quickly sharing my thoughts on the book. So, check out my contribution to the #MoxieGirlsFightBack movement! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu {GIVEAWAY}”

five-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen

Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van DraanenWild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on September 5th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
four-stars

In her most incisive and insightful book yet, Wendelin Van Draanen, award-winning author of The Running Dream and Flipped, offers a remarkable portrait of a girl who has hit rock bottom, but begins a climb back to herself at a wilderness survival camp in the desert.

3:47 a.m. That's when they come for Wren Clemmens. She's hustled out of her house and into a waiting car, then a plane, and then taken on a forced march into the desert. This is what happens to kids who've gone so far off the rails, their parents don't know what to do with them anymore. This is wilderness therapy camp. Eight weeks of survivalist camping in the desert. Eight weeks to turn your life around. Yeah, right.

The Wren who arrives in the Utah desert is angry and bitter, and blaming everyone but herself. But angry can't put up a tent. And bitter won't start a fire. Wren's going to have to admit she needs help if she's going to survive.

I’m so excited to be a part of the blog tour for “Wild Bird” by Wendelin Van Draanen! I went into this book with absolutely zero expectations since I didn’t know much at all about it and ended up absolutely loving it. From the captivating first chapters to the poignant ending, I was totally invested. “Wild Bird” is filled with lots of emotion, quiet moments, moving revelations and even a few laughs. Those readers who enjoy thoughtful and emotional contemporary young adult novels that tackle difficult subjects such as When Reason Breaks, Every Last Word and Bad Romance will want to add this to their shelves right away. As a matter of fact, I may have a little giveaway down below if you keep reading!

We all know by now, how much I love to put together a mood board and I had a blast (as usual) creating this one! I really wanted to make sure I captured the essence of the book so I made sure to include beautiful landscapes mixed with special moments from the book.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}

Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}In a Perfect World by Trish Doller
Published by Simon Pulse on May 23, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Social Issues, Young Adult
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Caroline Kelly is excited to be spending her summer vacation working at the local amusement park with her best friend, exploring weird Ohio with her boyfriend, and attending soccer camp with the hope she’ll be her team’s captain in the fall.

But when Caroline’s mother is hired to open an eye clinic in Cairo, Egypt, Caroline’s plans are upended. Caroline is now expected to spend her summer and her senior year in a foreign country, away from her friends, her home, and everything she’s ever known.

With this move, Caroline predicts she’ll spend her time navigating crowded streets, eating unfamiliar food, and having terrible bouts of homesickness. But when she finds instead is a culture that surprises her, a city that astounds her, and a charming, unpredictable boy who challenges everything she thought she knew about life, love, and privilege.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Guys, I have the perfect summer read for you! Best part? It comes from the author who brought us the swoony and feels filled Where the Stars Still Shine, the super creepy The Devil You Know and the book I STILL need to read (cause everyone I know raves about it) Something Like Normal. That’s right, Trish Doller newest release, In a Perfect World, is perfect for your beach bag, pool side reading or your picnic basket. Not only does this one deliver on the swoons, but it also has a very timely and important message that makes it a MUST READ this summer

Before I give you more of my review, I want to share the interview I recently had with Trish. I got to ask her about her inspiration for her latest book, as well as some personal fun facts. Check it out and then keep reading for my review… Continue reading “Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery LordThe Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Death & Dying, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

poignantly -a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What can I say that hasn’t already been said about Emery Lord? That she’s a wizard when it comes to writing authentic and meaningful friendships. She’s mastered the art of developing a swoony romance. Her ability to develop complex and beautiful family bonds is second to none. She knows how to write a story that gets to the emotional core of what it means to be a teenager. But…you guys know all this. If you’ve read even one of her books (I suggest you read ALL of them), then you know what an amazing author Emery is and can understand why I include her on my list of all-time faves. With the release of her fourth novel (in only three years!!), she’s managed to make me love her (and her story-telling) even more than I already did.

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather DemetriosBad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on June 13th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Physical & Emotional Abuse, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

BAD ROMANCE is the kind of book that stays with you long after you’ve finished. I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this book from a friend and having finished it last week, I can honestly say, I’ve thought about it every day since then. What Heather Demetrios has done with this novel, is shed a light on a very real and a very dangerous experience for so many people, including teens. Abuse, whether it be physical, sexual, mental or verbal, has touched so many lives and this is the kind of book that so many readers need in their life. Continue reading “Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios”

five-stars
Sarah