Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen

Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van DraanenWild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on September 5th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
four-stars

In her most incisive and insightful book yet, Wendelin Van Draanen, award-winning author of The Running Dream and Flipped, offers a remarkable portrait of a girl who has hit rock bottom, but begins a climb back to herself at a wilderness survival camp in the desert.

3:47 a.m. That's when they come for Wren Clemmens. She's hustled out of her house and into a waiting car, then a plane, and then taken on a forced march into the desert. This is what happens to kids who've gone so far off the rails, their parents don't know what to do with them anymore. This is wilderness therapy camp. Eight weeks of survivalist camping in the desert. Eight weeks to turn your life around. Yeah, right.

The Wren who arrives in the Utah desert is angry and bitter, and blaming everyone but herself. But angry can't put up a tent. And bitter won't start a fire. Wren's going to have to admit she needs help if she's going to survive.

I’m so excited to be a part of the blog tour for “Wild Bird” by Wendelin Van Draanen! I went into this book with absolutely zero expectations since I didn’t know much at all about it and ended up absolutely loving it. From the captivating first chapters to the poignant ending, I was totally invested. “Wild Bird” is filled with lots of emotion, quiet moments, moving revelations and even a few laughs. Those readers who enjoy thoughtful and emotional contemporary young adult novels that tackle difficult subjects such as When Reason Breaks, Every Last Word and Bad Romance will want to add this to their shelves right away. As a matter of fact, I may have a little giveaway down below if you keep reading!

We all know by now, how much I love to put together a mood board and I had a blast (as usual) creating this one! I really wanted to make sure I captured the essence of the book so I made sure to include beautiful landscapes mixed with special moments from the book.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}

Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}In a Perfect World by Trish Doller
Published by Simon Pulse on May 23, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Social Issues, Young Adult
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Caroline Kelly is excited to be spending her summer vacation working at the local amusement park with her best friend, exploring weird Ohio with her boyfriend, and attending soccer camp with the hope she’ll be her team’s captain in the fall.

But when Caroline’s mother is hired to open an eye clinic in Cairo, Egypt, Caroline’s plans are upended. Caroline is now expected to spend her summer and her senior year in a foreign country, away from her friends, her home, and everything she’s ever known.

With this move, Caroline predicts she’ll spend her time navigating crowded streets, eating unfamiliar food, and having terrible bouts of homesickness. But when she finds instead is a culture that surprises her, a city that astounds her, and a charming, unpredictable boy who challenges everything she thought she knew about life, love, and privilege.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Guys, I have the perfect summer read for you! Best part? It comes from the author who brought us the swoony and feels filled Where the Stars Still Shine, the super creepy The Devil You Know and the book I STILL need to read (cause everyone I know raves about it) Something Like Normal. That’s right, Trish Doller newest release, In a Perfect World, is perfect for your beach bag, pool side reading or your picnic basket. Not only does this one deliver on the swoons, but it also has a very timely and important message that makes it a MUST READ this summer

Before I give you more of my review, I want to share the interview I recently had with Trish. I got to ask her about her inspiration for her latest book, as well as some personal fun facts. Check it out and then keep reading for my review… Continue reading “Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery LordThe Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Death & Dying, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

poignantly -a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What can I say that hasn’t already been said about Emery Lord? That she’s a wizard when it comes to writing authentic and meaningful friendships. She’s mastered the art of developing a swoony romance. Her ability to develop complex and beautiful family bonds is second to none. She knows how to write a story that gets to the emotional core of what it means to be a teenager. But…you guys know all this. If you’ve read even one of her books (I suggest you read ALL of them), then you know what an amazing author Emery is and can understand why I include her on my list of all-time faves. With the release of her fourth novel (in only three years!!), she’s managed to make me love her (and her story-telling) even more than I already did.

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather DemetriosBad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on June 13th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Physical & Emotional Abuse, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

BAD ROMANCE is the kind of book that stays with you long after you’ve finished. I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this book from a friend and having finished it last week, I can honestly say, I’ve thought about it every day since then. What Heather Demetrios has done with this novel, is shed a light on a very real and a very dangerous experience for so many people, including teens. Abuse, whether it be physical, sexual, mental or verbal, has touched so many lives and this is the kind of book that so many readers need in their life. Continue reading “Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Buzzin’: Roar by Cora Carmack

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Buzzin’: Roar by Cora CarmackRoar (Stormheart, #1) by Cora Carmack
Published by Tor Teen on June 13th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 380
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.
Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

I’m so excited to present another edition of Book Buzzin’ here at What Sarah Read. Every so often, I feature an upcoming release I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Cora Carmack‘s upcoming Fantasy YA debut, “Roar”.

Happy Teaser Tuesday, friends! I thought today would be the perfect day to share an epic teaser from Roar to help kick off the ONE week countdown until the release date. I know many of us know and love Cora from her swoony (and steamy) New Adult series Rusk University, Losing It and The Muse. But one week from today, Cora joins the ranks of amazing authors of epic Young Adult fantasy books. Even MORE exciting is that Roar is the first book in the new Stormheart series, so after you fall in love with the first book you can rest easy knowing there is more to come!

Check out this special Teaser Tuesday excerpt of Roar!

While you’re here, make sure you watch this amazing book trailer for Roar! If you weren’t already super excited for this book, the trailer will put you completely over the edge.

Continue reading “Book Buzzin’: Roar by Cora Carmack”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia LevensellerDaughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, #1) by Tricia Levenseller
Published by Feiwel & Friends on February 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Pirates, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

This book kind of came out of nowhere for me. I initially noticed it for the cover. It was moody and badass so I mentally added Daughter of the Pirate King to my TBR. Then ALL OF A SUDDEN, my Goodreads and Twitter feeds started blowing up with mentioned of how addictive and fun of a read it was. Fortunately, I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy from the publisher (Thanks, Fierce Reads!!) so I pulled it from my TBR tower and dove right in. I was eager to see what all the excitement was about and if it really was as amazing as everyone was saying it was. So, was it? Keep reading for my answer. But first, as always, check out the epic mood board I created to get you in the piratey mood! YES, I said piratey and YES it’s word. At least it is now.

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

Book Feels Lite: Wayfarer by Alexandra BrackenWayfarer (Passenger, #2) by Alexandra Bracken
Published by Disney-Hyperion on January 3rd 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 532
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

All Etta Spencer wanted was to make her violin debut when she was thrust into a treacherous world where the struggle for power could alter history. After losing the one thing that would have allowed her to protect the Timeline, and the one person worth fighting for, Etta awakens alone in an unknown place and time, exposed to the threat of the two groups who would rather see her dead than succeed.

When help arrives, it comes from the last person Etta ever expected—Julian Ironwood, the Grand Master’s heir who has long been presumed dead, and whose dangerous alliance with a man from Etta’s past could put them both at risk.

Meanwhile, Nicholas and Sophia are racing through time in order to locate Etta and the missing astrolabe with Ironwood travelers hot on their trail. They cross paths with a mercenary-for-hire, a cheeky girl named Li Min who quickly develops a flirtation with Sophia. But as the three of them attempt to evade their pursuers, Nicholas soon realizes that one of his companions may have ulterior motives.

As Etta and Nicholas fight to make their way back to one another, from Imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, time is rapidly shifting and changing into something unrecognizable… and might just run out on both of them.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Friends, this review is woefully, shamefully, embarrassingly late. Especially considering how much I absolutely loved it. “Wayfarer” is the second and final book in a gorgeous duology by Alexandra Bracken. I absolutely adored the first book, “Passenger” (my review), when it released last year which meant that “Wayfarer” was one of most anticipated releases of 2017. So, once again, we ask that age old question…did it live up to my expectations?

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken”

five-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz {Fan Art & Giveaway}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz {Fan Art & Giveaway}Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz
on April 11th 2017
Genres: Historical, Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Amazon
Goodreads

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Witches of East End and The Descendants comes the love story of young Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler.

1777. Albany, New York.

As battle cries of the American Revolution echo in the distance, servants flutter about preparing for one of New York society’s biggest events: the Schuylers’ grand ball. Descended from two of the oldest and most distinguished bloodlines in New York, the Schuylers are proud to be one of their fledgling country’s founding families, and even prouder still of their three daughters—Angelica, with her razor-sharp wit; Peggy, with her dazzling looks; and Eliza, whose beauty and charm rival that of both her sisters, though she’d rather be aiding the colonists’ cause than dressing up for some silly ball.

Still, she can barely contain her excitement when she hears of the arrival of one Alexander Hamilton, a mysterious, rakish young colonel and General George Washington’s right-hand man. Though Alex has arrived as the bearer of bad news for the Schuylers, he can’t believe his luck—as an orphan, and a bastard one at that—to be in such esteemed company. And when Alex and Eliza meet that fateful night, so begins an epic love story that would forever change the course of American history.

In the pages of Alex and Eliza, #1 New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz brings to life the romance of young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N | INDIEBOUND

I fell in love with Hamilton: An American Musical last year, along with half of the human population it seems, and since then have developed an unhealthy obsession with Hamilton-inspired fan art. So, when it came time for me to think up a topic for today’s post for the Alex and Eliza blog tour, I knew I had to share some of my all-time faves! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz {Fan Art & Giveaway}”

Sarah

Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole CastromanBlacksouls (Blackhearts, #2) by Nicole Castroman
Published by Simon Pulse on April 11th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical Fiction, Pirates, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean to life in this vibrant sequel to Blackhearts—the reimagined origin story of history’s most infamous pirate, Blackbeard.

Edward “Teach” Drummond is setting sail to the Caribbean as first mate on the most celebrated merchant ship in the British fleet—until he rebels against his captain. Mutiny is a capital offense and Teach knows it could cost him his life, but he believes it worth the risk in order to save his crew from the attacking Spanish ships.

Sailing on the same blue waters, Anne barely avoids the Spanish attack, making it safely to Nassau. But lawless criminals, corrupt politics, and dangerous intentions fill the crowded streets of this Caribbean port. Soon, Anne discovers that the man entrusted to keep the peace is quite possibly the most treacherous of them all—and he just happens to hold Teach’s fate in his terrifying hands.

Life and death hang in the balance when Teach and Anne are given a dangerous mission. It’s a mission that will test their love, loyalty and devotion, forcing them down a path neither one could have ever imagined.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Not gonna lie, I’ve been looking forward to this book for a LONG time. Ever since I read “Blackhearts” over a year ago and fell in love with Nicole Castroman‘s writing, I’ve been dying to read the sequel. You can read my review of Blackhearts here to see exactly how much I loved it and at the very end you’ll also see how nervous I was that there wouldn’t be a sequel. Thankfully, my worries were put to rest when I heard about “Blacksouls” and all I had to do was WAIT! So, was the wait worth it? Could I possibly love “Blacksouls” as much as I loved “Blackhearts”?

Continue reading “Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather Demetrios

Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather DemetriosFreedom's Slave (Dark Caravan Cycle, #3) by Heather Demetrios
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 608
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

An Empress Fighting for Her CrownAfter three long years in exile, Nalia is ready to return to her homeland and sit on the throne that is rightfully hers. But the gods might have other plans. Forced to endure untold horrors on the journey to Arjinna, Nalia learns that it will take more than cutting down the tyrant Calar to get her crown.

An Army Fighting to SurviveRaif’s return to Arjinna as the commander of the revolution against Calar and her army isn’t as smooth as he’d hoped. Though he has more soldiers than ever before, his love for Nalia is losing him the trust of his comrades...and the war. But little does the resistance know that insurrection is brewing among Calar’s own ranks—and from the one person she trusts the most.

A Land Worth Fighting forArjinna is dying—Calar’s evil experiments with dark magic and the strength of her own psychic powers threaten to destroy the land of the jinn. Is Nalia and Raif’s enduring love enough to transform and rescue their homeland? Will they be willing to save the realm, no matter the cost?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

By now, you may know that I am a big fan of the Dark Caravan Cycle by Heater Demetrios. Exquisite Captive is “a story of passion, of pain and ultimately of the power that can be found in freedom.” and Blood Passage is filled with “precise detailing, inspiring character growth and absolutely gorgeous writing”, making it an equally fabulous sequel. It’s no wonder that I went into the final book in the trilogy with exceedingly high expectations. All I wanted was for Nalia and Raif to finally find happiness after sacrificing so much for their home and for their people. Over the first two books in this series, I’d become invested in the stories of these characters, their lives and their fight for survival.

Continue reading “Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather Demetrios”

five-stars
Sarah