Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}

Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}In a Perfect World by Trish Doller
Published by Simon Pulse on May 23, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Social Issues, Young Adult
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Caroline Kelly is excited to be spending her summer vacation working at the local amusement park with her best friend, exploring weird Ohio with her boyfriend, and attending soccer camp with the hope she’ll be her team’s captain in the fall.

But when Caroline’s mother is hired to open an eye clinic in Cairo, Egypt, Caroline’s plans are upended. Caroline is now expected to spend her summer and her senior year in a foreign country, away from her friends, her home, and everything she’s ever known.

With this move, Caroline predicts she’ll spend her time navigating crowded streets, eating unfamiliar food, and having terrible bouts of homesickness. But when she finds instead is a culture that surprises her, a city that astounds her, and a charming, unpredictable boy who challenges everything she thought she knew about life, love, and privilege.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Guys, I have the perfect summer read for you! Best part? It comes from the author who brought us the swoony and feels filled Where the Stars Still Shine, the super creepy The Devil You Know and the book I STILL need to read (cause everyone I know raves about it) Something Like Normal. That’s right, Trish Doller newest release, In a Perfect World, is perfect for your beach bag, pool side reading or your picnic basket. Not only does this one deliver on the swoons, but it also has a very timely and important message that makes it a MUST READ this summer

Before I give you more of my review, I want to share the interview I recently had with Trish. I got to ask her about her inspiration for her latest book, as well as some personal fun facts. Check it out and then keep reading for my review… Continue reading “Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}”

four-stars
Sarah

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati
Published by Delacorte Press on October 11th 2016
Genres: Family, Social Issues, Suicide, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Amazon
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Catherine Pulaski knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the devastating depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disorder, almost triumphed once; that was her first suicide attempt. 
Being bipolar is forever. It never goes away. The med du jour might work right now, but Zero will be back for her. It’s only a matter of time.

And so, in an old ballet-shoe box, Catherine stockpiles medications, preparing to take her own life before Zero can inflict its living death on her again. Before she goes, though, she starts a short bucket list.

The bucket list, the support of her family, new friends, and a new course of treatment all begin to lessen Catherine’s sense of isolation. The problem is, her plan is already in place, and has been for so long that she might not be able to see a future beyond it.

This is a story of loss and grief and hope, and how some of the many shapes of love—maternal, romantic, and platonic—affect a young woman’s struggle with mental illness and the stigma of treatment.

Happy Monday, friends…hope you all had a fabulous weekend! I’m here to make your Monday just a little bit more wonderful with this fantastic interview with Karen Fortunati, the author of ‘The Weight of Zero’. Her debut novel has been getting some amazing reviews and serious buzz among the bookish world. Check it out…

  • A Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce Selection
  • Featured in SEVENTEEN MAGAZINE, September 2016
  • A Barnes and Noble 2016 Most Anticipated Debut
  • An Amazon Editors Favorite YA Book for Fall 2016
  • A Shelf Awareness BEA2016 Buzz Book

“Catherine’s acerbically witty narrative voice is razor sharp and often raw, and the confessional tone of her present-tense narration makes clear how overwhelming her pain is…. An honest, informative, and ultimately optimistic novel about living with mental illness.” – Kirkus

Continue reading “The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}

Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor
Published by Roaring Brook Press on August 23rd 2016
Genres: Family, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 224
Amazon
Goodreads

In this affecting debut novel, a child actor struggles to find herself on a film set where only one thing matters: getting the money shot.

Joss Byrd is America's most celebrated young actress, and her next project is a hot new Indie film helmed by a renowned, charismatic director. But on the set of The Locals, Joss's life is far from glamorous. Her mother is domineering and relentless, her dyslexia makes it difficult to keep up with the constantly changing script, the boy playing her older brother doesn't seem to reciprocate Joss's crush, and the film's gritty subject matter terrifies her. Yet none of these things appear to matter to Joss's agent, director, or even her mother. Joss is just a cash cow, and no one cares what she has to do for the perfect shot-as long as she gets it somehow.

Author Lygia Day Peñaflor's draws on her firsthand experience as a private academic teacher for young Hollywood stars in this affecting debut novel that explores the many demands made on young actors.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What a perfect way to kick off the end of summer with some beach themed quote art. I paired the images below with quotes from Lygia Day Peñaflor’s recent debut release, “Unscripted Joss Byrd”. This book was a surprisingly honest and refreshing portrayal of young Hollywood,  and perfect for the younger YA or older MG reader who want to get a sneak peek of what really happens behind the scenes.

For my blog tour post today, I thought it would be fun to take some of the more memorable quotes from the book and pair them with images that reminded me of the beachy setting of the story. By now, you probably know how much I love finding images that evoke a theme or feeling found in a book I’ve recently read, so I hope you enjoy this quote art I created for “Unscripted Joss Byrd”. Oh…and don’t miss out on all of the rest of the tour stops! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}”

Sarah

Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door, #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Dial Books For Young Readers on August 18th 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Surprises abound and sparks ignite in the highly anticipated, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door. Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:- find the liquor cabinet blindfolded- need a liver transplant- drive his car into a houseAlice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:- well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard. Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.And Alice is caught in the middle. Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this return to the world of My Life Next Door is a story about failing first, trying again, and having to decide whether to risk it all once more.

TheBoyMostLikelyTo

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}”

five-stars
Sarah

{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels

{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book FeelsWonder by R.J. Palacio
Published by Knopf on February 14th 2012
Genres: Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Health, Middle Grade, Social Issues
Pages: 320
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

triangle border

A couple of months ago my ten-year-old niece Caroline came to me and asked if she could post book reviews on my blog. She’s an avid reader and really passionate about books she loves, and as you can guess I got a little emotional when she expressed interest in being a part of my blog! I think I may have concerned her a little bit with my enthusiasm but I managed to settle myself down long enough to talk to her about what book she would like to review and also teach her in the basics of reviewing books.

I’m proud to say that she’s a fast learner and before I knew it she turned in this sweet and thoughtful review of one of her very favorite books of all time…Wonder by R.J. Palacio. Caroline and I had so much fun putting this post together for you, that we’ve decided to make it a recurring feature on What Sarah Read. I grabbed a bunch of Middle Grade ARCs for her at BEA and every once in a while you’ll see her adorable face pop up on the blog with a brand new review. So without further ado…my amazing niece and I bring you…

Caroline

WonderHeader Continue reading “{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland StoneEvery Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
Published by Disney-Hyperion on June 16th 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Mental Health Issues, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

If you could read my mind, you wouldn't be smiling.Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can't turn off. Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn't help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she'd be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam's weekly visits to her psychiatrist. Caroline introduces Sam to Poet's Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more "normal" than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

triangle border

EveryLastWord-TIStone

Continue reading “Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah OcklerThe Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler
Published by Simon and Schuster on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
five-stars

From the bestselling author of Twenty Boy Summer, a talented singer loses her ability to speak after a tragic accident, leading her to a postcard-perfect seaside town to find romance.The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak. Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: an ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing, and people too polite to pry—except for one. Christian Kane is a notorious playboy—insolent, arrogant, and completely charming. He’s also the only person in Atargatis Cove who doesn’t treat Elyse like a glass statue. He challenges her to express herself, and he admires the way she treats his younger brother, Sebastian, who believes Elyse is the legendary mermaid come to life. When Christian needs a first mate for the Cove’s high-stakes Pirate Regatta, Elyse reluctantly stows her fear of the sea and climbs aboard. The ocean isn’t the only thing making waves, though—swept up in Christian’s seductive tide and entranced by the Cove’s charms, Elyse begins to wonder if a life of solitude isn’t what she needs. But changing course again means facing her past. It means finding her inner voice. And scariest of all, it means opening her heart to a boy who’s best known for breaking them…

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

 TheSummerofChasingMermaids

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler”

five-stars
Sarah

{Blog Tour & Giveaway} Proof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer

{Blog Tour & Giveaway} Proof of Forever by Lexa HillyerProof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer
Published by HarperCollins on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Friendship, Social Issues, Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

From debut author and poet Lexa Hillyer comes the lyrical story of four seventeen-year-old friends who receive an unlikely chance to relive the perfect summer . . . and the devastating secret that could unravel it all. Elegant and evocative, Proof of Forever is one of those first novels that hooks you from the beginning and builds toward a stunning—and unexpected—end, calling to mind Gayle Forman and Ann Brashares.Joy, Tali, Luce, and Zoe were once best friends. Now they barely speak. That is, until the fateful flash of a photo-booth camera transports them back in time, to the summer they were fifteen—the summer everything changed. Photos fade. Friendships dissolve. Summers end. But this one will change the girls forever . . . again.Wendy Wunder calls Proof of Forever "The Sisterhood of the (Time) Traveling Pants for a new generation!"

proof-of-forever-lexa-hillyer-blog-tour

So many of the scenes from Proof of Forever were right out of my summer camp experience! Running to the lake in flip-flops, muggy nights spent gossiping in the girl’s cabin, races in the field and of course the summer camp romances. Not only did the characters get transported back in time, but I was also taken back to my summer days as a teenager when everything was angst filled and emotional.

One of the great things about summer camp is the experience of meeting complete strangers and by the end of the summer you know everything there is to know about them. Today, as my part of the Proof of Forever blog tour, I’m welcoming the book’s author Lexa Hillyer and she’s sharing some of her deepest, darkest secrets with all of you! Well, maybe not so deep and not so dark, but still LOTS of fun!

Ten Fun Facts You Probably Don’t Know About Me

by Lexa Hillyer

  1. I don’t have a driver’s license (yet!)
  2. I’ve never died my hair.
  3. I don’t drink coffee.
  4. I’m a sucker for Shakespeare. Especially the tragedies. Iambic Pentameter’s my jam!
  5. I was the expert at “fake dying” in my high school theater productions.
  6. I was an editor for ten years (and still am) before I decided to write my own book.
  7. I own a business with Lauren Oliver (it’s called Paper Lantern Lit.)
  8. I am having my first baby the same month that PROOF OF FOREVER comes out. (It’s a girl!)
  9. I got in trouble for not wearing a bra at my first job. (I was such a hippie!)
  10. When I lived in London for a semester, I learned how to breakdance. But I wasn’t quite as good as, say, Channing Tatum.

GiveawayBanner
a Rafflecopter giveaway

U.S. Only

Sarah

Book Feels: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

Book Feels: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarryNowhere but Here by Katie McGarry
Published by Harlequin on June 1st 2015
Genres: Death & Dying, Love & Romance, Motorcycles, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
four-half-stars

An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns into an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both. Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down. No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Nowhere But Here

Continue reading “Book Feels: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry”

four-half-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie WestThe Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West
Published by HarperCollins on May 5th 2015
Genres: Friendship, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
four-stars

When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do the unthinkable…convince the cute guy waiting to pick up his sister to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night. The task is simple: two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.The problem is that days after prom, she can't stop thinking about her fill-in boyfriend. But can Gia turn her fake boyfriend into a real one without exposing her lie and possibly destroying her friendships and her newfound relationship?Smartly observed and wonderfully romantic, Kasie West's talent shines in this tale of one girl's unexpected quest to find love…and possibly herself.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

The Fill-In Boyfriend

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West”

four-stars
Sarah