Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery LordThe Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Death & Dying, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

poignantly -a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What can I say that hasn’t already been said about Emery Lord? That she’s a wizard when it comes to writing authentic and meaningful friendships. She’s mastered the art of developing a swoony romance. Her ability to develop complex and beautiful family bonds is second to none. She knows how to write a story that gets to the emotional core of what it means to be a teenager. But…you guys know all this. If you’ve read even one of her books (I suggest you read ALL of them), then you know what an amazing author Emery is and can understand why I include her on my list of all-time faves. With the release of her fourth novel (in only three years!!), she’s managed to make me love her (and her story-telling) even more than I already did.

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord”

five-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst {Mini-Review & Giveaway}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst {Mini-Review & Giveaway}Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
Published by Balzer + Bray on November 22nd 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Girls & Women, LGBT, Love & Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine (called Mare), sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, each discovers there’s more to the other than she thought. Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. Soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N

offireandstarsmoodboard

Oh man, you guys! This book totally snuck up on me. I mean, I was so intrigued when I read the description and immediately knew it would be the kind of book I would enjoy. But, what I didn’t know was how much I would enjoy it. “Of Fire and Stars” has a lot of what I love in a fantasy novel, but what really grabbed me was the love story. Continue reading “Blog Tour: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst {Mini-Review & Giveaway}”

four-stars
Sarah

Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}

Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends on November 8th 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king's marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

First things first! Can we please just take a moment and let the following information sink in…

THERE ARE ONLY 35 DAYS TILL HEARTLESS!!

That’s right, only 35 days until we are gifted with a brand new book from the amazing Marissa Meyer! I am a huge fan of the Lunar Chronicles, so I was beyond thrilled when I heard Marissa was writing a new book. But when I found out it was an origin story of the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, my excitement went to a whole new level!

heartless-9-19-16-1024x512

We all know how deliciously evil the Queen of Hearts is, and to get a glimpse of her past and what made her into the evil queen we all know and love. Actually, not sure love is the right word but you know what I mean.

I’m so thrilled to be a part of the blog tour for ‘Heartless” and am equally as thrilled to be sharing my mood board and review with you. Be sure to scroll to the end and check out the countdown to Heartless challenge. Continue reading “Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Game On by Michelle Smith {Playlist & Giveaway}

Blog Tour: Game On by Michelle Smith {Playlist & Giveaway}Game On (Lewis Creek, #2) by Michelle Smith
Published by Bloomsbury Spark on August 16th 2016
Genres: Love & Romance, Romance, Sports, Young Adult
Pages: 328
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

As king of baseball in the small town of Lewis Creek, Eric Perry can have any girl he wants and win every game he plays. But when a fight lands him in jail, he’s only got one more strike before his baseball career is over for good. His only chance for redemption? The girl next door, Bri Johnson.

Bri hasn’t talked to Eric in months— for starters, she’s been too busy dealing with her jerk of an ex-boyfriend, not to mention the fact that Eric’s been preoccupied trying to drink every keg in the country dry. But when he needs a way to stay on the team, she proposes a plan: if he helps her out with community service, he can stay on the team. At first it’s a nightmare—Eric and Bri stopped being friends years ago, surely that was for a good reason, right? But as volunteering turns to bonding over old memories of first kisses under the stars, they start to have trouble remembering what pushed them apart.

In a town as small as Lewis Creek, nothing stays secret for long and their friendship and romance might mean bad news. But in this final, tumultuous spring before graduation, Eric and Bri are about to realize that nobody’s perfect alone, but they might just be perfect together.

Game On quote3

Happy Wednesday, friends! I’m so excited to be sharing this post with you today, because it features one of my favorite contemporary romances of the year! That’s right, “Game On” by Michelle Smith was released yesterday and I seriously loved this book SO much! It should come as no surprise because I absolutely loved the first book in Smith’s “Lewis Creek” series, “Play On”. I had this to say about “Play On” last year…

“Play On has a lot of depth to it but still finds a way to be a lot of fun to read!  It’s the perfect balance of swoony romance with a thought-provoking and deeply moving story line.”

Everything I loved about “Play On” is what I loved about “Game On”, and I can’t wait to see what other stories Michelle Smith gives us from Lewis Creek. If they’re anything like the first two books, than they’re sure to be just as fantastic. Be sure to keep an eye on my blog, I’ll be sharing my mood board and review of “Game On” very, very soon!

I’m thrilled to be welcoming Michelle Smith to the blog today so she can talk a little bit about the themes and feelings found throughout “Game On”, as well as share an amazing playlist that helped inspire some scenes. So without further ado, I bring you Michelle and her “Game On” playlist! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Game On by Michelle Smith {Playlist & Giveaway}”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan MatsonThe Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on May 3rd 2016
Genres: Family, Friendship, Love & Romance
Pages: 519
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

From Morgan Matson, the bestselling author of Since You’ve Been Gone comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.

Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).

Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?

Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

The Unexpected Everything

 

You know what I love about Morgan Matson? Besides the fact that she is a bright and vibrant unicorn who spreads happiness wherever she goes? No, for real, check out her Instagram feed, it’s all bright colors and music and ice cream and puppies and sunsets! I love that she write stories that are so real, so relatable. They bring me back to those summer days, where everything was simpler, yet more difficult. Back to a time when everything is on the line, everything is new and yes, everything is unexpected. Continue reading “Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

Book Feels: The Rose and the Dagger by Renee AhdiehThe Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath & the Dawn, #2) by Renee Ahdieh
on April 26th 2016
Genres: Ancient Civilizations, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy & Magic, Legends, Myths, Fables, Love & Romance
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The much anticipated sequel to the breathtaking The Wrath and the Dawn, lauded by Publishers Weekly as "a potent page-turner of intrigue and romance."

I am surrounded on all sides by a desert. A guest, in a prison of sand and sun. My family is here. And I do not know whom I can trust.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curse—one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid's empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn't yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

TheRoseandtheDagger
If you’ve been a reader of my blog for the past year or so, then you may remember my review of Ahdieh’s debut novel, The Wrath and the Dawn. Here’s what I had to say a little over a year ago…

The Wrath and the Dawn is perfect for readers who love complicated heroines and even more complicated romances. It’s filled with intrigue and mystery and kept me on my toes…I flew through the book. I cannot wait to read the next book and discover where the story goes. If it’s anything like the first book, it too will earn a new spot on my favorites shelf.

Everything I loved about the first book was back again for The Rose and The Dagger…and then some! There are three things I love most about this series… Continue reading “Book Feels: The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead {GIVEAWAY}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead {GIVEAWAY}The Glittering Court (The Glittering Court, #1) by Richelle Mead
Published by Razorbill on April 5th 2016
Genres: Girls & Women, Historical Fiction, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

The Selection meets Reign in this dazzling trilogy of interwoven novels about three girls on a quest for freedom and true love from #1 internationally bestselling author Richelle Mead.

"Brilliant and original, Mead’s new series starts off with a bang and will leave readers on the edge of their seats until the very end."—School Library Journal

For a select group of girls, the Glittering Court offers a shot at a life they’ve only ever dreamed of, one of luxury, glamour, and leisure. To high-born Adelaide, whose wealthy family is forcing her into a loveless marriage, the Glittering Court represents something else: the chance to chart her own destiny, and adventure in an unspoiled, prosperous new land across the sea.

After a chance meeting with the dazzling Cedric Thorn, Adelaide poses as a servant to join the crop of impoverished girls he promises to transform into proper ladies. But her familiarity with upper class life comes with a price: she must hide her identity from her new friends, mysterious refugee Mira and fiery former laundress Tamsin, and most importantly, from Cedric himself—even though she’s falling in love with him.

Everything begins to crumble when Cedric discovers Adelaide’s ruse, and she catches the eye of a powerful young governor, who wants her for a wife. She didn’t leave the gilded cage of her old life behind just to become someone else's property. But nothing is as daunting—or as wonderful—as the potent, forbidden attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. One that, if acted on, would make them both outcasts in a wild, dangerous, uncharted world, and possibly lead them to their deaths.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

The Glittering Court

In a word, I LOVED ‘The Glittering Court’, LOVED it! It’s everything I want in a book…drama, adventure, intrigue, secrets, romance and danger! From the very beginning I was invested in Adelaide’s journey from pampered and sheltered young woman living in an opulent world to a mysterious no-name fighting to find her place in the world. Her desire to break free from the future that is laid out before her is authentic and believable, and as you follow along on her journey you begin to realize exactly how determined she is to forge a new path. I couldn’t help but become deeply invested in her success. Adelaide is a mix of feisty and determined balanced with a healthy dose desperation and cunning. Continue reading “Book Feels: The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead {GIVEAWAY}”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Blackhearts by Nicole CastromanBlackhearts by Nicole Castroman
Published by Simon Pulse on February 9th 2016
Genres: Historical, Legends, Myths, Fables, Love & Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything.

Edward "Teach" Drummond, son of one of Bristol's richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean he’d begun to call home. There's just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back.

Following her parents' deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though she’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she's stuck in England?

From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn to each other, they’re trapped by society and their own circumstances. Faced with an impossible choice, they must decide to chase their dreams and go, or follow their hearts and stay.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Blackhearts Continue reading “Book Feels: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman”

four-stars
Sarah

Waiting on Wednesday: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

Waiting on Wednesday: Ivory and Bone by Julie EshbaughIvory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh
Published by HarperTeen on June 14th 2016
Genres: Ancient Civilizations, Family, Historical, Love & Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The only life seventeen-year-old Kol knows is hunting at the foot of the Great Ice with his brothers. But food is becoming scarce, and without another clan to align with, Kol, his family, and their entire group are facing an uncertain future.

Traveling from the south, Mya and her family arrive at Kol’s camp with a trail of hurt and loss behind them, and hope for a new beginning. When Kol meets Mya, her strength, independence, and beauty instantly captivate him, igniting a desire for much more than survival.

Then on a hunt, Kol makes a grave mistake that jeopardizes the relationship that he and Mya have only just started to build. Mya was guarded to begin with—and for good reason—but no apology or gesture is enough for her to forgive him. Soon after, another clan arrives on their shores. And when Mya spots Lo, a daughter of this new clan, her anger intensifies, adding to the already simmering tension between families. After befriending Lo, Kol learns of a dark history between Lo and Mya that is rooted in the tangle of their pasts.

When violence erupts, Kol is forced to choose between fighting alongside Mya or trusting Lo’s claims. And when things quickly turn deadly, it becomes clear that this was a war that one of them had been planning all along.

 - hosted by Breaking the Spine -
– hosted by Breaking the Spine –

I was obsessively following Heather Doss’ Twitter feed yesterday as she live tweeted from the sales conference where the Summer 2016 titles from our friends at HarperCollins were announced. Guys! There were so many amazing books! A historical fantasy set in Russia, a dark urban fantasy, a Red Queen (Alice in Wonderland) origin story, a new kick-ass heroine fantasy series and a fantasy meets contempoary mash-up! Seriously, just search #HCS16 on Twitter to get the details on these books and many more!

The one title that really grabbed my attention was Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh! Heather pitched it as a Clan of the Cave Bear comparison and I nearly fell out of my chair. I was totally obsessed with this movie when I was younger, which led me to reading the book. Yeah, it was probably a little too mature for me at the time…

Unknown Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Truly Madly Famously by Rebecca Serle

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Truly Madly Famously by Rebecca SerleTruly, Madly, Famously (Famous in Love, #2) by Rebecca Serle
Published by Poppy on October 13th 2015
Genres: Film, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In this romantic sequel to Famous in Love, new Hollywood "It Girl" Paige must navigate love with her co-stars, both on and off screen and all in the public eye.

Lights, camera, love!

After being plucked from obscurity, Hollywood's newest starlet, Paige Townsen, has a hit film to her name and Rainer Devon on her arm. But being half of the world's most famous couple comes with a price, and soon Paige finds herself dodging photographers; hiding her feelings for her other costar, Jordan Wilder; and navigating tabloid scandals that threaten to tear her and Rainer apart-and end her career as quickly as it began.

Rebecca Serle's sequel to Famous in Love is filled with the kind of celebrity drama and swoon-worthy romance fit for the silver screen.

TMFblogtour

Welcome to today’s stop on the Truly Madly Famously blog tour! Today we’re celebrating the release of Rebecca Serle‘s second book in the Famous in Love series. I read Famous in Love last year and was totally sucked in by the fantasy of it all, and loved the normal girl turned celebrity story line. In Truly Madly Famously, we pick right back up with the characters from book one and find that they’ve settled into their lives after all of the dust has cleared. Or has it? This book is filled with all the ins and outs in the life of a Hollywood star and all of the good…and bad…that come with it!

I’m absolutely loving this mood board that I created for Truly Madly Famously. It totally captures the dreamy and beautiful vibes, but also hints at a hidden aspects of stardom that aren’t so fabulous. By the way, did you know that Famous in Love is being turned into a television show? I decided to use that fun little tidbit to my advantage and used Bella Thorne, the actress they cast as Paige, in my mood board below. If you ask me, they cast her perfectly! Oh and if you’ve already read Truly Madly Famously, then I also have to point out that…View Spoiler » At this point you must be totally intrigued, so make sure you grab yourself a copy and escape to the Hollywood Hills. Better yet, enter the contest below and WIN your very own copy!!

Truly Madly Famously Continue reading “Blog Tour: Truly Madly Famously by Rebecca Serle”

Sarah