Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen

Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van DraanenWild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on September 5th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
four-stars

In her most incisive and insightful book yet, Wendelin Van Draanen, award-winning author of The Running Dream and Flipped, offers a remarkable portrait of a girl who has hit rock bottom, but begins a climb back to herself at a wilderness survival camp in the desert.

3:47 a.m. That's when they come for Wren Clemmens. She's hustled out of her house and into a waiting car, then a plane, and then taken on a forced march into the desert. This is what happens to kids who've gone so far off the rails, their parents don't know what to do with them anymore. This is wilderness therapy camp. Eight weeks of survivalist camping in the desert. Eight weeks to turn your life around. Yeah, right.

The Wren who arrives in the Utah desert is angry and bitter, and blaming everyone but herself. But angry can't put up a tent. And bitter won't start a fire. Wren's going to have to admit she needs help if she's going to survive.

I’m so excited to be a part of the blog tour for “Wild Bird” by Wendelin Van Draanen! I went into this book with absolutely zero expectations since I didn’t know much at all about it and ended up absolutely loving it. From the captivating first chapters to the poignant ending, I was totally invested. “Wild Bird” is filled with lots of emotion, quiet moments, moving revelations and even a few laughs. Those readers who enjoy thoughtful and emotional contemporary young adult novels that tackle difficult subjects such as When Reason Breaks, Every Last Word and Bad Romance will want to add this to their shelves right away. As a matter of fact, I may have a little giveaway down below if you keep reading!

We all know by now, how much I love to put together a mood board and I had a blast (as usual) creating this one! I really wanted to make sure I captured the essence of the book so I made sure to include beautiful landscapes mixed with special moments from the book.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}

Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}In a Perfect World by Trish Doller
Published by Simon Pulse on May 23, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Social Issues, Young Adult
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Caroline Kelly is excited to be spending her summer vacation working at the local amusement park with her best friend, exploring weird Ohio with her boyfriend, and attending soccer camp with the hope she’ll be her team’s captain in the fall.

But when Caroline’s mother is hired to open an eye clinic in Cairo, Egypt, Caroline’s plans are upended. Caroline is now expected to spend her summer and her senior year in a foreign country, away from her friends, her home, and everything she’s ever known.

With this move, Caroline predicts she’ll spend her time navigating crowded streets, eating unfamiliar food, and having terrible bouts of homesickness. But when she finds instead is a culture that surprises her, a city that astounds her, and a charming, unpredictable boy who challenges everything she thought she knew about life, love, and privilege.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Guys, I have the perfect summer read for you! Best part? It comes from the author who brought us the swoony and feels filled Where the Stars Still Shine, the super creepy The Devil You Know and the book I STILL need to read (cause everyone I know raves about it) Something Like Normal. That’s right, Trish Doller newest release, In a Perfect World, is perfect for your beach bag, pool side reading or your picnic basket. Not only does this one deliver on the swoons, but it also has a very timely and important message that makes it a MUST READ this summer

Before I give you more of my review, I want to share the interview I recently had with Trish. I got to ask her about her inspiration for her latest book, as well as some personal fun facts. Check it out and then keep reading for my review… Continue reading “Book Feels: In a Perfect World by Trish Doller {Author Interview & Mini Review}”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery LordThe Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Death & Dying, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

poignantly -a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What can I say that hasn’t already been said about Emery Lord? That she’s a wizard when it comes to writing authentic and meaningful friendships. She’s mastered the art of developing a swoony romance. Her ability to develop complex and beautiful family bonds is second to none. She knows how to write a story that gets to the emotional core of what it means to be a teenager. But…you guys know all this. If you’ve read even one of her books (I suggest you read ALL of them), then you know what an amazing author Emery is and can understand why I include her on my list of all-time faves. With the release of her fourth novel (in only three years!!), she’s managed to make me love her (and her story-telling) even more than I already did.

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather DemetriosBad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on June 13th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Physical & Emotional Abuse, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

BAD ROMANCE is the kind of book that stays with you long after you’ve finished. I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this book from a friend and having finished it last week, I can honestly say, I’ve thought about it every day since then. What Heather Demetrios has done with this novel, is shed a light on a very real and a very dangerous experience for so many people, including teens. Abuse, whether it be physical, sexual, mental or verbal, has touched so many lives and this is the kind of book that so many readers need in their life. Continue reading “Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan MatsonThe Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on May 3rd 2016
Genres: Family, Friendship, Love & Romance
Pages: 519
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

From Morgan Matson, the bestselling author of Since You’ve Been Gone comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.

Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).

Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?

Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

The Unexpected Everything

 

You know what I love about Morgan Matson? Besides the fact that she is a bright and vibrant unicorn who spreads happiness wherever she goes? No, for real, check out her Instagram feed, it’s all bright colors and music and ice cream and puppies and sunsets! I love that she write stories that are so real, so relatable. They bring me back to those summer days, where everything was simpler, yet more difficult. Back to a time when everything is on the line, everything is new and yes, everything is unexpected. Continue reading “Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Truthwitch by Susan DennardTruthwitch by Susan Dennard
Series: , #1
Published by Tor Teen on January 5th 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Friendship, Girls & Women
Pages: 416
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Truthwitch

Continue reading “Book Feels: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}

Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Dial Books For Young Readers on April 15th 2014
Genres: Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 422
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

WhatIThoughtWasTrue

Continue reading “Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}”

five-stars
Sarah

{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels

{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book FeelsWonder by R.J. Palacio
Published by Knopf on February 14th 2012
Genres: Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Health, Middle Grade, Social Issues
Pages: 320
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

triangle border

A couple of months ago my ten-year-old niece Caroline came to me and asked if she could post book reviews on my blog. She’s an avid reader and really passionate about books she loves, and as you can guess I got a little emotional when she expressed interest in being a part of my blog! I think I may have concerned her a little bit with my enthusiasm but I managed to settle myself down long enough to talk to her about what book she would like to review and also teach her in the basics of reviewing books.

I’m proud to say that she’s a fast learner and before I knew it she turned in this sweet and thoughtful review of one of her very favorite books of all time…Wonder by R.J. Palacio. Caroline and I had so much fun putting this post together for you, that we’ve decided to make it a recurring feature on What Sarah Read. I grabbed a bunch of Middle Grade ARCs for her at BEA and every once in a while you’ll see her adorable face pop up on the blog with a brand new review. So without further ado…my amazing niece and I bring you…

Caroline

WonderHeader Continue reading “{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin BenwayEmmy & Oliver by Robin Benway
Published by HarperTeen on June 23rd 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?Readers who love Sarah Dessen will tear through these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story.

EmmyandOliver

Continue reading “Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland StoneEvery Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
Published by Disney-Hyperion on June 16th 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Mental Health Issues, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

If you could read my mind, you wouldn't be smiling.Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can't turn off. Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn't help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she'd be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam's weekly visits to her psychiatrist. Caroline introduces Sam to Poet's Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more "normal" than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

triangle border

EveryLastWord-TIStone

Continue reading “Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone”

five-stars
Sarah