Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}

Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress, #1) by Julie C. Dao
on January 1st 1970
Genres: Asia, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

I’m so excited to be the latest stop on the blog tour for Julie C. Dao‘s debut novel, “Forest of a Thousand Lanterns” . This book is an epic and original retelling of the Evil Queen legend and is every bit as dark and thrilling. This book captured me from the opening pages and I was pulled in to the story of a young woman discovering that her life may hold more than she bargained for. Xifeng is the anti-hero/villain that you love to, well, LOVE. She’s a complicated, determined and multi-faceted character, and reading along as her struggle with her increasingly conflicting feelings was completely addictive.

P.S. Make sure you read all the way to the end of this post for
a chance to win your very own hardcover copy of
“Forest of a thousand lanterns”!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Book Buzzin’ featuring A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica Cluess

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Book Buzzin’ featuring A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica CluessA Poison Dark and Drowning (Kingdom on Fire, #2) by Jessica Cluess
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on September 19th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

The magicians want her to lead. The sorcerers want her to lie. The demons want her blood. Henrietta wants to save the one she loves. But will his dark magic be her undoing?

Henrietta doesn’t need a prophecy to know that she’s in danger. She came to London to be named the chosen one, the first female sorcerer in centuries, the one who would defeat the bloodthirsty Ancients. Instead, she discovered a city ruled by secrets. And the biggest secret of all: Henrietta is not the chosen one.

Still, she must play the role in order to keep herself and Rook, her best friend and childhood love, safe. But can she truly save him? The poison in Rook’s system is transforming him into something monstrous as he begins to master dark powers of his own.

So when Henrietta finds a clue to the Ancients’ past that could turn the tide of the war, she persuades Blackwood, the mysterious Earl of Sorrow-Fell, to travel up the coast to seek out strange new weapons. And Magnus, the brave, reckless flirt who wants to win back her favor, is assigned to their mission. Together, they will face monsters, meet powerful new allies, and uncover the most devastating weapon of all: the truth.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to highlight another recent new release here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I feature an upcoming or new release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Jessica Cluess‘ latest novel, “A Poison Dark and Drowning”. The thrilling follow-up to her debit novel of 2016, “A Shadow Bright and Burning”.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Book Buzzin’ featuring A Poison Dark and Drowning by Jessica Cluess”

Sarah

Book Buzzin’: Roar by Cora Carmack

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Buzzin’: Roar by Cora CarmackRoar (Stormheart, #1) by Cora Carmack
Published by Tor Teen on June 13th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 380
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.
Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

I’m so excited to present another edition of Book Buzzin’ here at What Sarah Read. Every so often, I feature an upcoming release I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Cora Carmack‘s upcoming Fantasy YA debut, “Roar”.

Happy Teaser Tuesday, friends! I thought today would be the perfect day to share an epic teaser from Roar to help kick off the ONE week countdown until the release date. I know many of us know and love Cora from her swoony (and steamy) New Adult series Rusk University, Losing It and The Muse. But one week from today, Cora joins the ranks of amazing authors of epic Young Adult fantasy books. Even MORE exciting is that Roar is the first book in the new Stormheart series, so after you fall in love with the first book you can rest easy knowing there is more to come!

Check out this special Teaser Tuesday excerpt of Roar!

While you’re here, make sure you watch this amazing book trailer for Roar! If you weren’t already super excited for this book, the trailer will put you completely over the edge.

Continue reading “Book Buzzin’: Roar by Cora Carmack”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia LevensellerDaughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, #1) by Tricia Levenseller
Published by Feiwel & Friends on February 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Pirates, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

This book kind of came out of nowhere for me. I initially noticed it for the cover. It was moody and badass so I mentally added Daughter of the Pirate King to my TBR. Then ALL OF A SUDDEN, my Goodreads and Twitter feeds started blowing up with mentioned of how addictive and fun of a read it was. Fortunately, I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy from the publisher (Thanks, Fierce Reads!!) so I pulled it from my TBR tower and dove right in. I was eager to see what all the excitement was about and if it really was as amazing as everyone was saying it was. So, was it? Keep reading for my answer. But first, as always, check out the epic mood board I created to get you in the piratey mood! YES, I said piratey and YES it’s word. At least it is now.

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather Demetrios

Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather DemetriosFreedom's Slave (Dark Caravan Cycle, #3) by Heather Demetrios
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 608
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

An Empress Fighting for Her CrownAfter three long years in exile, Nalia is ready to return to her homeland and sit on the throne that is rightfully hers. But the gods might have other plans. Forced to endure untold horrors on the journey to Arjinna, Nalia learns that it will take more than cutting down the tyrant Calar to get her crown.

An Army Fighting to SurviveRaif’s return to Arjinna as the commander of the revolution against Calar and her army isn’t as smooth as he’d hoped. Though he has more soldiers than ever before, his love for Nalia is losing him the trust of his comrades...and the war. But little does the resistance know that insurrection is brewing among Calar’s own ranks—and from the one person she trusts the most.

A Land Worth Fighting forArjinna is dying—Calar’s evil experiments with dark magic and the strength of her own psychic powers threaten to destroy the land of the jinn. Is Nalia and Raif’s enduring love enough to transform and rescue their homeland? Will they be willing to save the realm, no matter the cost?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

By now, you may know that I am a big fan of the Dark Caravan Cycle by Heater Demetrios. Exquisite Captive is “a story of passion, of pain and ultimately of the power that can be found in freedom.” and Blood Passage is filled with “precise detailing, inspiring character growth and absolutely gorgeous writing”, making it an equally fabulous sequel. It’s no wonder that I went into the final book in the trilogy with exceedingly high expectations. All I wanted was for Nalia and Raif to finally find happiness after sacrificing so much for their home and for their people. Over the first two books in this series, I’d become invested in the stories of these characters, their lives and their fight for survival.

Continue reading “Book Feels: Freedom’s Slave by Heather Demetrios”

five-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor
on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Legends, Myths, Fables, Young Adult
Pages: 544
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.
What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N | INDIEBOUND

Am I the only one here who wishes they could spend a day in Laini Taylor’s mind? She creates such gorgeous and vivid imagery with her words, and the ideas that spring forth are so exquisite. But for now, I guess we’ll have to settle for her amazing books and Pinterest boards.

I share this post with you today, with a fair word of warning. You are going to NEED this book in your life when I am done here. Honestly, chances are you’ve already pre-ordered “Strange the Dreamer” because Laini Taylor is a literary goddess and you must have all her words. But, if this one inexplicably isn’t on your radar yet, keep reading for all of the reasons it should be.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}”

five-stars
Sarah

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn EvesBlood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1) by Rosalyn Eves
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Amazon
Goodreads

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to debut another new feature here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I’ll feature an upcoming release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Rosalyn Eves‘ upcoming debut, “Blood Rose Rebellion“!

Continue reading “{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves”

Sarah

Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels: The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer & Brandon Dorman

Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels: The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer & Brandon DormanThe Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories, #1) by Chris Colfer, Brandon Dorman
on July 17th 2012
Genres: Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy & Magic, Middle Grade, Siblings
Pages: 438
Amazon
Goodreads

Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.

triangle border

SHE’S BAAAAACK! I can’t believe it’s been over a year and a half since I debuted this feature with my niece Caroline! What can I say? Middle Schoolers are VERY busy people! I just couldn’t get Caroline to sit still long enough to write a review. I got a lot of wonderful comments from readers when I shared her review of Wonder and I’ve been eager to get her back on the blog for another appearance.

Needless to say, I’m pretty thrilled she’s back to talk about a Middle Grade book series that she is loving these days. Her absolute favorite show is “Once Upon a Time” and when she discovered these books she became an instant fan since they reminded her of the show. Something tells me she’s following in her Auntie’s fantasy loving footsteps. I’m so proud!

Caroline Continue reading “Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels: The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer & Brandon Dorman”

Sarah

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn HamiltonTraitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands, #2) by Alwyn Hamilton
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on March 7th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The sizzling, un-put-downable sequel to the bestselling Rebel of the Sands!

Mere months ago, gunslinger Amani al'Hiza fled her dead-end hometown on the back of a mythical horse with the mysterious foreigner Jin, seeking only her own freedom. Now she's fighting to liberate the entire desert nation of Miraji from a bloodthirsty sultan who slew his own father to capture the throne.

When Amani finds herself thrust into the epicenter of the regime—the Sultan's palace—she's determined to bring the tyrant down. Desperate to uncover the Sultan's secrets by spying on his court, she tries to forget that Jin disappeared just as she was getting closest to him, and that she's a prisoner of the enemy. But the longer she remains, the more she questions whether the Sultan is really the villain she's been told he is, and who’s the real traitor to her sun-bleached, magic-filled homeland.

Forget everything you thought you knew about Miraji, about the rebellion, about djinni and Jin and the Blue-Eyed Bandit. In Traitor to the Throne, the only certainty is that everything will change.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Happy Tuesday, friends! Do you know what today is? If you’re anything like me you’ve had this date marked on your calendar for a while now! Not only is it new release Tuesday, but it’s the book birthday for “Traitor to the Throne” by Alwyn Hamilton. You may already know how much I loved the first book in this series, “Rebel of the Sands” (read my review here) and hopefully you saw my recent post on the reasons why I love main character, Amani. But, today, I’m here to tell you all the reasons why I LOVE Traitor even MORE than I love Rebel.

Traitor to the Throne

Continue reading “Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie GarberCaraval (Caraval, #1) by Stephanie Garber
Published by Flatiron Books on January 31st 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Thrillers & Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems.

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance where the audience participates in the show.

Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure.

And for Scarlett and her beloved sister Tella it represents freedom and an escape from their ruthless, abusive father.

When the sisters' long-awaited invitations to Caraval finally arrive, it seems their dreams have come true. But no sooner have they arrived than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show's mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But nonetheless she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.

A mesmerising, magical and stunningly imaginative debut novel for anyone who loved The Night Circus and Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

AMAZON / Barnes & NOBLE / INDIE BOUND / BOOK DEPOSITORY

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Ohhhh, friends! This is a GOOD one! Seriously! You’re going to want to add this to your TBR right now! Caraval releases today (Happy book birthday, Stephanie Garber) and let’s be real, there’s been some serious hype! This amazing debut novel features a magical and dangerous game that leaves its participants forever changed and I’m here to tell you…the hype is real!

I LOVED THIS BOOK…

Continue reading “Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber”

five-stars
Sarah