Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor
on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Legends, Myths, Fables, Young Adult
Pages: 544
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy.

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.
What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N | INDIEBOUND

Am I the only one here who wishes they could spend a day in Laini Taylor’s mind? She creates such gorgeous and vivid imagery with her words, and the ideas that spring forth are so exquisite. But for now, I guess we’ll have to settle for her amazing books and Pinterest boards.

I share this post with you today, with a fair word of warning. You are going to NEED this book in your life when I am done here. Honestly, chances are you’ve already pre-ordered “Strange the Dreamer” because Laini Taylor is a literary goddess and you must have all her words. But, if this one inexplicably isn’t on your radar yet, keep reading for all of the reasons it should be.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor {Mini Review & Mood Board}”

five-stars
Sarah

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn EvesBlood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1) by Rosalyn Eves
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to debut another new feature here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I’ll feature an upcoming release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Rosalyn Eves‘ upcoming debut, “Blood Rose Rebellion“!

Continue reading “{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves”

Sarah

Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels: The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer & Brandon Dorman

Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels: The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer & Brandon DormanThe Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories, #1) by Chris Colfer, Brandon Dorman
on July 17th 2012
Genres: Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy & Magic, Middle Grade, Siblings
Pages: 438
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.

triangle border

SHE’S BAAAAACK! I can’t believe it’s been over a year and a half since I debuted this feature with my niece Caroline! What can I say? Middle Schoolers are VERY busy people! I just couldn’t get Caroline to sit still long enough to write a review. I got a lot of wonderful comments from readers when I shared her review of Wonder and I’ve been eager to get her back on the blog for another appearance.

Needless to say, I’m pretty thrilled she’s back to talk about a Middle Grade book series that she is loving these days. Her absolute favorite show is “Once Upon a Time” and when she discovered these books she became an instant fan since they reminded her of the show. Something tells me she’s following in her Auntie’s fantasy loving footsteps. I’m so proud!

Caroline Continue reading “Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels: The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer & Brandon Dorman”

Sarah

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn HamiltonTraitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands, #2) by Alwyn Hamilton
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on March 7th 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 528
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The sizzling, un-put-downable sequel to the bestselling Rebel of the Sands!

Mere months ago, gunslinger Amani al'Hiza fled her dead-end hometown on the back of a mythical horse with the mysterious foreigner Jin, seeking only her own freedom. Now she's fighting to liberate the entire desert nation of Miraji from a bloodthirsty sultan who slew his own father to capture the throne.

When Amani finds herself thrust into the epicenter of the regime—the Sultan's palace—she's determined to bring the tyrant down. Desperate to uncover the Sultan's secrets by spying on his court, she tries to forget that Jin disappeared just as she was getting closest to him, and that she's a prisoner of the enemy. But the longer she remains, the more she questions whether the Sultan is really the villain she's been told he is, and who’s the real traitor to her sun-bleached, magic-filled homeland.

Forget everything you thought you knew about Miraji, about the rebellion, about djinni and Jin and the Blue-Eyed Bandit. In Traitor to the Throne, the only certainty is that everything will change.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Happy Tuesday, friends! Do you know what today is? If you’re anything like me you’ve had this date marked on your calendar for a while now! Not only is it new release Tuesday, but it’s the book birthday for “Traitor to the Throne” by Alwyn Hamilton. You may already know how much I loved the first book in this series, “Rebel of the Sands” (read my review here) and hopefully you saw my recent post on the reasons why I love main character, Amani. But, today, I’m here to tell you all the reasons why I LOVE Traitor even MORE than I love Rebel.

Traitor to the Throne

Continue reading “Book Feels: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie GarberCaraval (Caraval, #1) by Stephanie Garber
Published by Flatiron Books on January 31st 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Thrillers & Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems.

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year week-long performance where the audience participates in the show.

Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure.

And for Scarlett and her beloved sister Tella it represents freedom and an escape from their ruthless, abusive father.

When the sisters' long-awaited invitations to Caraval finally arrive, it seems their dreams have come true. But no sooner have they arrived than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show's mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But nonetheless she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.

A mesmerising, magical and stunningly imaginative debut novel for anyone who loved The Night Circus and Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

AMAZON / Barnes & NOBLE / INDIE BOUND / BOOK DEPOSITORY

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Ohhhh, friends! This is a GOOD one! Seriously! You’re going to want to add this to your TBR right now! Caraval releases today (Happy book birthday, Stephanie Garber) and let’s be real, there’s been some serious hype! This amazing debut novel features a magical and dangerous game that leaves its participants forever changed and I’m here to tell you…the hype is real!

I LOVED THIS BOOK…

Continue reading “Book Feels: Caraval by Stephanie Garber”

five-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: The Cursed Queen by Sarah Fine {Mini-Review & Mood Board}

Blog Tour: The Cursed Queen by Sarah Fine {Mini-Review & Mood Board}The Cursed Queen (The Impostor Queen #2) by Sarah Fine
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books on January 3rd 2017
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Girls & Women, LGBTQ
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Ansa has always been a fighter.

As a child, she fought the invaders who murdered her parents and snatched her as a raid prize. She fought for her place next to Thyra, the daughter of the Krigere Chieftain. She fought for her status as a warrior in her tribe: blood and victory are her way of life. But the day the Krigere cross the great lake and threaten the witch queen of the Kupari, everything changes.

Cursed by the queen with fire and ice, Ansa is forced to fight against an invisible enemy—the dark magic that has embedded itself deep in her bones. The more she tries to hide it, the more dangerous it becomes. And with the Krigere numbers decimated and the tribe under threat from the traitorous brother of the dead Chieftain, Ansa is torn between her loyalty to the Krigere, her love for Thyra, and her own survival instincts.

With her world in chaos and each side wanting to claim her for their own, only one thing is certain: unless Ansa can control the terrible magic inside her, everything she’s fought for will be destroyed.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N

First of all, I want to wish all of my lovely readers a happy new year! I’m so excited for what lies ahead in and hope that you have an amazing year too. I’m honored to be the first stop on “The Cursed Queen” blog tour, and if you’re not already eagerly anticipating this book, I’m hoping my review can get you excited for its release. “The Cursed Queen” by Sarah Fine was my final read of 2016, which was so perfect, considering my final read of 2015 was the first installment in the series, “The Impostor Queen”. If you read my review last year, you’ll know that I LOVED it. So, did I love “The Cursed Queen” as much? Well, you’ll just have to keep reading to find out.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: The Cursed Queen by Sarah Fine {Mini-Review & Mood Board}”

four-stars
Sarah

Blog Tour: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst {Mini-Review & Giveaway}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst {Mini-Review & Giveaway}Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
Published by Balzer + Bray on November 22nd 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Girls & Women, LGBT, Love & Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine (called Mare), sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, each discovers there’s more to the other than she thought. Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. Soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

LINKS to Purchase: Amazon | B&N

offireandstarsmoodboard

Oh man, you guys! This book totally snuck up on me. I mean, I was so intrigued when I read the description and immediately knew it would be the kind of book I would enjoy. But, what I didn’t know was how much I would enjoy it. “Of Fire and Stars” has a lot of what I love in a fantasy novel, but what really grabbed me was the love story. Continue reading “Blog Tour: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst {Mini-Review & Giveaway}”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica CluessA Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, #1) by Jessica Cluess
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on September 20th 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Henrietta can burst into flames.

Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she’s shocked when instead of being executed, she’s named the first female sorcerer in hundreds of years and invited to train as one of Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the prophesied one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta is not the chosen one.

As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city—and the one she loves?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

a-shadow-bright-and-burning

I was hooked from the moment I started reading A Shadow Bright and Burning. It’s a perfect mix of magic, feminism, squad goals, swoon and monsters. There were so many things to love and they all came together in a perfect blend of an epic fantasy story about self-discovery. Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess”

four-stars
Sarah

Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}

Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends on November 8th 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king's marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

First things first! Can we please just take a moment and let the following information sink in…

THERE ARE ONLY 35 DAYS TILL HEARTLESS!!

That’s right, only 35 days until we are gifted with a brand new book from the amazing Marissa Meyer! I am a huge fan of the Lunar Chronicles, so I was beyond thrilled when I heard Marissa was writing a new book. But when I found out it was an origin story of the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, my excitement went to a whole new level!

heartless-9-19-16-1024x512

We all know how deliciously evil the Queen of Hearts is, and to get a glimpse of her past and what made her into the evil queen we all know and love. Actually, not sure love is the right word but you know what I mean.

I’m so thrilled to be a part of the blog tour for ‘Heartless” and am equally as thrilled to be sharing my mood board and review with you. Be sure to scroll to the end and check out the countdown to Heartless challenge. Continue reading “Countdown to Heartless! {Review & Challenge}”

Sarah

Book Feels: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

Book Feels: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. PearsonThe Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles, #3) by Mary E. Pearson
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on August 2nd 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 688
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Lia and Rafe have escaped Venda and the path before them is winding and dangerous - what will happen now? This third and final book in The Remnant Chronicles is not to be missed.

Bestselling author Mary E. Pearson's combination of intrigue, suspense, romance and action make this a riveting page turner for teens.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
betray-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Let’s take a moment, shall we? I’d like to mark this occasion. I wish I had banners to unfurl and a red carpet to roll out. At the very least, I could really use some confetti. Why all the fanfare and excitement? First and foremost, it’s because “The Beauty of Darkness” in finally out in the world but for me it means so much more, because I loved this book so damn much. I make no exaggerations when I say that this final book in The Remnant Chronicles series is absolute perfection and is now one of my all-time favorite books.

TBoD

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson”

five-stars
Sarah