Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery LordThe Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Death & Dying, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Religious, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

poignantly -a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What can I say that hasn’t already been said about Emery Lord? That she’s a wizard when it comes to writing authentic and meaningful friendships. She’s mastered the art of developing a swoony romance. Her ability to develop complex and beautiful family bonds is second to none. She knows how to write a story that gets to the emotional core of what it means to be a teenager. But…you guys know all this. If you’ve read even one of her books (I suggest you read ALL of them), then you know what an amazing author Emery is and can understand why I include her on my list of all-time faves. With the release of her fourth novel (in only three years!!), she’s managed to make me love her (and her story-telling) even more than I already did.

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather DemetriosBad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on June 13th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Physical & Emotional Abuse, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

BAD ROMANCE is the kind of book that stays with you long after you’ve finished. I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this book from a friend and having finished it last week, I can honestly say, I’ve thought about it every day since then. What Heather Demetrios has done with this novel, is shed a light on a very real and a very dangerous experience for so many people, including teens. Abuse, whether it be physical, sexual, mental or verbal, has touched so many lives and this is the kind of book that so many readers need in their life. Continue reading “Book Feels: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios”

five-stars
Sarah

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati
Published by Delacorte Press on October 11th 2016
Genres: Family, Social Issues, Suicide, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Catherine Pulaski knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the devastating depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disorder, almost triumphed once; that was her first suicide attempt. 
Being bipolar is forever. It never goes away. The med du jour might work right now, but Zero will be back for her. It’s only a matter of time.

And so, in an old ballet-shoe box, Catherine stockpiles medications, preparing to take her own life before Zero can inflict its living death on her again. Before she goes, though, she starts a short bucket list.

The bucket list, the support of her family, new friends, and a new course of treatment all begin to lessen Catherine’s sense of isolation. The problem is, her plan is already in place, and has been for so long that she might not be able to see a future beyond it.

This is a story of loss and grief and hope, and how some of the many shapes of love—maternal, romantic, and platonic—affect a young woman’s struggle with mental illness and the stigma of treatment.

Happy Monday, friends…hope you all had a fabulous weekend! I’m here to make your Monday just a little bit more wonderful with this fantastic interview with Karen Fortunati, the author of ‘The Weight of Zero’. Her debut novel has been getting some amazing reviews and serious buzz among the bookish world. Check it out…

  • A Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce Selection
  • Featured in SEVENTEEN MAGAZINE, September 2016
  • A Barnes and Noble 2016 Most Anticipated Debut
  • An Amazon Editors Favorite YA Book for Fall 2016
  • A Shelf Awareness BEA2016 Buzz Book

“Catherine’s acerbically witty narrative voice is razor sharp and often raw, and the confessional tone of her present-tense narration makes clear how overwhelming her pain is…. An honest, informative, and ultimately optimistic novel about living with mental illness.” – Kirkus

Continue reading “The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati {Author Interview}”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}

Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor
Published by Roaring Brook Press on August 23rd 2016
Genres: Family, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 224
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In this affecting debut novel, a child actor struggles to find herself on a film set where only one thing matters: getting the money shot.

Joss Byrd is America's most celebrated young actress, and her next project is a hot new Indie film helmed by a renowned, charismatic director. But on the set of The Locals, Joss's life is far from glamorous. Her mother is domineering and relentless, her dyslexia makes it difficult to keep up with the constantly changing script, the boy playing her older brother doesn't seem to reciprocate Joss's crush, and the film's gritty subject matter terrifies her. Yet none of these things appear to matter to Joss's agent, director, or even her mother. Joss is just a cash cow, and no one cares what she has to do for the perfect shot-as long as she gets it somehow.

Author Lygia Day Peñaflor's draws on her firsthand experience as a private academic teacher for young Hollywood stars in this affecting debut novel that explores the many demands made on young actors.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

What a perfect way to kick off the end of summer with some beach themed quote art. I paired the images below with quotes from Lygia Day Peñaflor’s recent debut release, “Unscripted Joss Byrd”. This book was a surprisingly honest and refreshing portrayal of young Hollywood,  and perfect for the younger YA or older MG reader who want to get a sneak peek of what really happens behind the scenes.

For my blog tour post today, I thought it would be fun to take some of the more memorable quotes from the book and pair them with images that reminded me of the beachy setting of the story. By now, you probably know how much I love finding images that evoke a theme or feeling found in a book I’ve recently read, so I hope you enjoy this quote art I created for “Unscripted Joss Byrd”. Oh…and don’t miss out on all of the rest of the tour stops! Continue reading “Blog Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor {QUOTE ART}”

Sarah

Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan MatsonThe Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on May 3rd 2016
Genres: Family, Friendship, Love & Romance
Pages: 519
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

From Morgan Matson, the bestselling author of Since You’ve Been Gone comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.

Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).

Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?

Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

The Unexpected Everything

 

You know what I love about Morgan Matson? Besides the fact that she is a bright and vibrant unicorn who spreads happiness wherever she goes? No, for real, check out her Instagram feed, it’s all bright colors and music and ice cream and puppies and sunsets! I love that she write stories that are so real, so relatable. They bring me back to those summer days, where everything was simpler, yet more difficult. Back to a time when everything is on the line, everything is new and yes, everything is unexpected. Continue reading “Book Feels: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson”

four-stars
Sarah

Waiting on Wednesday: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

Waiting on Wednesday: Ivory and Bone by Julie EshbaughIvory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh
Published by HarperTeen on June 14th 2016
Genres: Ancient Civilizations, Family, Historical, Love & Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The only life seventeen-year-old Kol knows is hunting at the foot of the Great Ice with his brothers. But food is becoming scarce, and without another clan to align with, Kol, his family, and their entire group are facing an uncertain future.

Traveling from the south, Mya and her family arrive at Kol’s camp with a trail of hurt and loss behind them, and hope for a new beginning. When Kol meets Mya, her strength, independence, and beauty instantly captivate him, igniting a desire for much more than survival.

Then on a hunt, Kol makes a grave mistake that jeopardizes the relationship that he and Mya have only just started to build. Mya was guarded to begin with—and for good reason—but no apology or gesture is enough for her to forgive him. Soon after, another clan arrives on their shores. And when Mya spots Lo, a daughter of this new clan, her anger intensifies, adding to the already simmering tension between families. After befriending Lo, Kol learns of a dark history between Lo and Mya that is rooted in the tangle of their pasts.

When violence erupts, Kol is forced to choose between fighting alongside Mya or trusting Lo’s claims. And when things quickly turn deadly, it becomes clear that this was a war that one of them had been planning all along.

 - hosted by Breaking the Spine -
– hosted by Breaking the Spine –

I was obsessively following Heather Doss’ Twitter feed yesterday as she live tweeted from the sales conference where the Summer 2016 titles from our friends at HarperCollins were announced. Guys! There were so many amazing books! A historical fantasy set in Russia, a dark urban fantasy, a Red Queen (Alice in Wonderland) origin story, a new kick-ass heroine fantasy series and a fantasy meets contempoary mash-up! Seriously, just search #HCS16 on Twitter to get the details on these books and many more!

The one title that really grabbed my attention was Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh! Heather pitched it as a Clan of the Cave Bear comparison and I nearly fell out of my chair. I was totally obsessed with this movie when I was younger, which led me to reading the book. Yeah, it was probably a little too mature for me at the time…

Unknown Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh”

Sarah

Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door, #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Dial Books For Young Readers on August 18th 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Surprises abound and sparks ignite in the highly anticipated, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door. Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:- find the liquor cabinet blindfolded- need a liver transplant- drive his car into a houseAlice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:- well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard. Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.And Alice is caught in the middle. Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this return to the world of My Life Next Door is a story about failing first, trying again, and having to decide whether to risk it all once more.

TheBoyMostLikelyTo

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}

Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Dial Books For Young Readers on April 15th 2014
Genres: Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 422
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

WhatIThoughtWasTrue

Continue reading “Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin BenwayEmmy & Oliver by Robin Benway
Published by HarperTeen on June 23rd 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?Readers who love Sarah Dessen will tear through these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story.

EmmyandOliver

Continue reading “Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland StoneEvery Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
Published by Disney-Hyperion on June 16th 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Mental Health Issues, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

If you could read my mind, you wouldn't be smiling.Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can't turn off. Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn't help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she'd be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam's weekly visits to her psychiatrist. Caroline introduces Sam to Poet's Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more "normal" than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

triangle border

EveryLastWord-TIStone

Continue reading “Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone”

five-stars
Sarah