Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen

Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van DraanenWild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on September 5th 2017
Genres: Coming of Age, Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
four-stars

In her most incisive and insightful book yet, Wendelin Van Draanen, award-winning author of The Running Dream and Flipped, offers a remarkable portrait of a girl who has hit rock bottom, but begins a climb back to herself at a wilderness survival camp in the desert.

3:47 a.m. That's when they come for Wren Clemmens. She's hustled out of her house and into a waiting car, then a plane, and then taken on a forced march into the desert. This is what happens to kids who've gone so far off the rails, their parents don't know what to do with them anymore. This is wilderness therapy camp. Eight weeks of survivalist camping in the desert. Eight weeks to turn your life around. Yeah, right.

The Wren who arrives in the Utah desert is angry and bitter, and blaming everyone but herself. But angry can't put up a tent. And bitter won't start a fire. Wren's going to have to admit she needs help if she's going to survive.

I’m so excited to be a part of the blog tour for “Wild Bird” by Wendelin Van Draanen! I went into this book with absolutely zero expectations since I didn’t know much at all about it and ended up absolutely loving it. From the captivating first chapters to the poignant ending, I was totally invested. “Wild Bird” is filled with lots of emotion, quiet moments, moving revelations and even a few laughs. Those readers who enjoy thoughtful and emotional contemporary young adult novels that tackle difficult subjects such as When Reason Breaks, Every Last Word and Bad Romance will want to add this to their shelves right away. As a matter of fact, I may have a little giveaway down below if you keep reading!

We all know by now, how much I love to put together a mood board and I had a blast (as usual) creating this one! I really wanted to make sure I captured the essence of the book so I made sure to include beautiful landscapes mixed with special moments from the book.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen”

four-stars
Sarah

“Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & Giveaway

“Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & GiveawayStranger Than Fanfiction by Chris Colfer
on February 28th 2017
Genres: Death & Dying, Emotions & Feelings, Mental Health Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Amazon
Goodreads

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Colfer comes a funny, heartbreaking, unforgettable novel about friendship and fame.

Cash Carter is the young, world famous lead actor of the hit television show Wiz Kids. When four fans jokingly invite him on a cross-country road trip, they are shocked that he actually takes them up on it. Chased by paparazzi and hounded by reporters, this unlikely crew takes off on a journey of a lifetime – but along the way they discover that the star they love has deep secrets he's been keeping. What they come to learn about the life of the mysterious person they thought they knew will teach them about the power of empathy and the unbreakable bond of true friendship.

In this touching novel, #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Colfer takes us on a journey full of laughter, tears, and life-changing memories.

Happy Friday, friends! Today, I’m teaming up with my friends at Little, Brown to share this epic giveaway featuring the newest book from Chris Colfer (YAY, Glee!), “Stranger than Fanfiction”! This new release features a celebrity and four of his fans embarking on a cross-country road trip and all the adventures they have along the way. What starts out as a crazy adventure, turns into a much deeper experience filled with revelations and lessons learned.

I thought it would be fun to map out my own cross-country road trip…but with a twist. So check out the YA across the USA I’ve mapped out below and buckle up! It’s gonna be a feels-filled ride! Continue reading ““Stranger Than Fanfiction”: YA Road Trip & Giveaway”

Sarah

Book Feels: The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood {GIVEAWAY}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood {GIVEAWAY}The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood
Published by Roaring Brook Press on May 3rd 2016
Genres: Death & Dying, Emotions & Feelings, Time Travel
Pages: 304
Amazon
Goodreads

This is what it means to love someone. This is what it means to grieve someone. It's a little bit like a black hole. It's a little bit like infinity.

Gottie H. Oppenheimer is losing time. Literally. When the fabric of the universe around her seaside town begins to fray, she's hurtled through wormholes to her past:

To last summer, when her grandfather Grey died. To the afternoon she fell in love with Jason, who wouldn't even hold her hand at the funeral.

To the day her best friend Thomas moved away and left her behind with a scar on her hand and a black hole in her memory.

Although Grey is still gone, Jason and Thomas are back, and Gottie's past, present, and future are about to collide—and someone's heart is about to be broken.

With time travel, quantum physics, and sweeping romance, The Square Root of Summer is an exponentially enthralling story about love, loss, and trying to figure it all out, from stunning debut YA voice, Harriet Reuter Hapgood.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

The Square Root of Summer

I went into this book not exactly knowing what to expect. Was it sci-fi? Was it contemporary? Was it the secret to life cleverly disguised as a unique and compelling young adult novel. Turns out, it was a combination of all three. “The Square Root of Summer” was unlike any book I’ve read and by the time I flipped to the last page, I felt like I had just read a user’s guide to the meaning of life and the secrets of time travel. Continue reading “Book Feels: The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood {GIVEAWAY}”

Sarah

Book Feels: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Book Feels: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani ChokshiThe Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on April 26th 2016
Genres: Emotions & Feelings, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you're only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father's kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran's queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar's wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire...

But Akaran has its own secrets -- thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most. . .including herself.

A lush and vivid story that is steeped in Indian folklore and mythology. The Star-Touched Queen is a novel that no reader will soon forget.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

The Star-Touched Queen

It’s going to be pretty difficult for me to put into words just how this book made me feel. I’ve never read anything quite like it. There are so many ways in which I could describe it, but as I reflect back on the reading experience, I knew that it was more than just a book, a story or a novel. Continue reading “Book Feels: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door, #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Dial Books For Young Readers on August 18th 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Surprises abound and sparks ignite in the highly anticipated, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door. Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:- find the liquor cabinet blindfolded- need a liver transplant- drive his car into a houseAlice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:- well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard. Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.And Alice is caught in the middle. Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this return to the world of My Life Next Door is a story about failing first, trying again, and having to decide whether to risk it all once more.

TheBoyMostLikelyTo

Continue reading “Book Feels: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}

Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Dial Books For Young Readers on April 15th 2014
Genres: Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 422
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

WhatIThoughtWasTrue

Continue reading “Book Feels: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick {GIVEAWAY}”

five-stars
Sarah

{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels

{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book FeelsWonder by R.J. Palacio
Published by Knopf on February 14th 2012
Genres: Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Health, Middle Grade, Social Issues
Pages: 320
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He's about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

triangle border

A couple of months ago my ten-year-old niece Caroline came to me and asked if she could post book reviews on my blog. She’s an avid reader and really passionate about books she loves, and as you can guess I got a little emotional when she expressed interest in being a part of my blog! I think I may have concerned her a little bit with my enthusiasm but I managed to settle myself down long enough to talk to her about what book she would like to review and also teach her in the basics of reviewing books.

I’m proud to say that she’s a fast learner and before I knew it she turned in this sweet and thoughtful review of one of her very favorite books of all time…Wonder by R.J. Palacio. Caroline and I had so much fun putting this post together for you, that we’ve decided to make it a recurring feature on What Sarah Read. I grabbed a bunch of Middle Grade ARCs for her at BEA and every once in a while you’ll see her adorable face pop up on the blog with a brand new review. So without further ado…my amazing niece and I bring you…

Caroline

WonderHeader Continue reading “{New Feature} Caroline and the Case of the Middle Grade Book Feels”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin BenwayEmmy & Oliver by Robin Benway
Published by HarperTeen on June 23rd 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?Readers who love Sarah Dessen will tear through these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story.

EmmyandOliver

Continue reading “Book Feels: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland StoneEvery Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
Published by Disney-Hyperion on June 16th 2015
Genres: Coming of Age, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Mental Health Issues, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

If you could read my mind, you wouldn't be smiling.Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can't turn off. Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn't help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she'd be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam's weekly visits to her psychiatrist. Caroline introduces Sam to Poet's Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more "normal" than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

triangle border

EveryLastWord-TIStone

Continue reading “Book Feels: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen {GIVEAWAY}

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen {GIVEAWAY}This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen
Published by Speak on March 8th 2004
Genres: Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 345
Goodreads
four-stars

When it comes to relationships, Remy doesn't mess around. After all, she's learned all there is to know from her mother, who's currently working on husband number five. But there's something about Dexter that seems to defy all of Remy's rules. He certainly doesn't seem like Mr. Right. For some reason, however, Remy just can't seem to shake him. Could it be that Remy's starting to understand what those love songs are all about?

Penguin Teen is celebrating Sarah Dessen in a big way this summer, by reading all twelve of her novels of twelve weeks from May 11 to August 2. You can take part in the Summer of Sarah celebration by reading along each week with a new book and sharing your thoughts, photos and other Sarah Dessen goodness! Check it out…

tumblr_nomaa1uMQc1r0yglfo1_500

As you can see from the gorg graphic from Penguin Teen above, it’s week eight and the featured book is ‘This Lullaby’! I was lucky enough to be asked to read and review Remy and Dexter’s story as part of this summer long celebration and I couldn’t be more honored to be taking part!

PSSST…you can win your very own copy of ‘This Lullaby’! Just head over to Twitter and retweet my
giveaway tweet to enter by this Friday!

Continue reading “Book Feels: This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen {GIVEAWAY}”

four-stars
Sarah