{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn EvesBlood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1) by Rosalyn Eves
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to debut another new feature here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I’ll feature an upcoming release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Rosalyn Eves‘ upcoming debut, “Blood Rose Rebellion“!

Continue reading “{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves”

Sarah

Book Feels Redux: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Book Feels Redux: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa TahirAn Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1) by Sabaa Tahir
Published by Razorbill on April 28th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 446
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Laia is a slave. 

Elias is a soldier. 

Neither is free.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

To celebrate the countdown to the release of “A Torch Against the Night” by Sabaa Tahir, I decided it would be fun to re-post my original review of “An Ember in the Ashes”, the book that started it all! If you haven’t read this amazing book, then this summer is the perfect time to do it, because “A Torch Against the night” releases on August 30th!

I was fortunate enough to receive an amazing mailing from my friends at Penguin Random House and Razorbill Books, that included a paperback of Ember, and ARC of Torch (YAHOO!) AND an amazing cuff that Laia (the main character of the series) would totally covet! It’s seriously the most amazing book mail I’ve ever received and got me even more excited for the release of Torch in just a couple of months. I didn’t think it was possible to be more excited than I already was. But I am, and now I get to share that excitement with all of YOU!

Torch box
Would you LOOK at all of this gorgeousness! Thank you SO much to Penguin Random House and Razorbill books for this amazing package!

Continue reading “Book Feels Redux: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Wolf by Wolf by Ryan GraudinWolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin
Series: ,
on October 20th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Alternate History, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Code Name Verity meets Inglourious Basterds in this fast-paced novel from the author of The Walled City.
The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor's ball.
Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year's only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin's brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael's every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Wolf by Wolf

triangle border

This book! Ohhh, how I loved this book! I’ve had a run of really great reads lately, and this one is at the top of the list. Wolf by Wolf’ is one of my very favorite books of the year, and I DEMAND that everyone drop everything and read it now. Yes! It’s THAT good!

giphy

So, what was it about ‘Wolf by Wolf’ that I loved so much? I guess I could take the easy way out and say EVERYTHING, which would be absolutely true. But, it wouldn’t do the story any justice, so I am going to try to coherently gather my thoughts for all of you in a way that describes how amazing it is.

In ‘Wolf by Wolf’, Graudin gives us a completely unique reading experience by masterfully blending historical fiction with a heavy dose of paranormal and sci-fi, and it all comes together to give the reader a fascinating alternate history to get lost in. There are so many ways that things could have ended up had Hitler prevailed in World War II, and Graudin gives us a terrifying glimpse of what could have been. As horrible as it all was, I couldn’t help but be fascinated with the alternate history she created for her readers. Graudin did such an amazing job with her world-building, it’s so rich and detailed that I couldn’t help but find myself completely immersed in the story from the very beginning. Graudin’s writing is haunting, vivid and breath-taking, which lent itself perfectly to the story of Yael and her mission to change the fate of the world.

Graudin gives us several stunning backdrops for her story; the bleak and wicked concentration camp where we first meet Yael, the wide and open deserts of the Middle East in which we come across some of the most treacherous parts of her journey, the colorful and celebratory people of India that are a bright spot in an otherwise miserable experience, and the mysterious and foreboding Imperial City where the climax of the story takes place. These places and so many more weave together to create a richly diverse and immersive reading experience.

I was drawn to all of the characters, and was 100% invested in their story lines. Yael was an amazing protagonist and I was so intrigued by her mix of vulnerability and strength, and also her tireless dedication to her mission. As a matter of fact, ALL of the characters in this book were so complex and multifaceted. I really enjoy books that manage to capture the true essence of each character, and what I loved about ‘Wolf by Wolf’ was that even though I may not have agreed with all of the characters and their actions, I was still given the opportunity to understand where they were coming from. Because of this, I found myself deeply invested in the outcome of the story. Speaking of outcome, ‘Wolf by Wolf’ ends on serious cliffhanger and I was SO not expecting it to end the way it did. So, kudos to Graudin for keeping me on my toes.

FINAL THOUGHTS…

triangle border

loved-it

‘Wolf by Wolf’ has become one of my most highly recommended books of the year! I want everyone to read it, so they can experience its greatness for themselves. Graudin’s talent shines in this novel!

arrow2

About Ryan Graudin

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina, with a severe case of wanderlust. When she’s not traveling, she’s busy writing and spending time with her husband and wolf dog. She is the author of the All That Glows series, The Walled City, and Wolf by Wolf.Ryan Graudin grew up in Charleston and graduated from the College of Charleston with a degree in Creative Writing in 2009. She is the author of Wolf By Wolf, The Walled City and the All That Glows series. She resides near Charleston with her husband and wolf-dog. You can find her online at www.ryangraudin.com.

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay KristoffIlluminae (The Illuminae Files, #1) by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 20th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Science Fiction, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 608
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.This afternoon, her planet was invaded.The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Illuminae Continue reading “Book Feels: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: The Young Elites by Marie LuThe Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) by Marie Lu
Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers on October 7th 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 355
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.
Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.
Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.
Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.
Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.
It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

TheYoungElites

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: The Young Elites by Marie Lu”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Book Feels: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on September 1st 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Young Adult
Pages: 648
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series contrinues Celaena's epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

QueenofShadows Continue reading “Book Feels: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Vengeance Road by Erin BowmanVengeance Road by Erin Bowman
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on September 1st 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, Love & Romance, Western, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.      In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation.   

VR

Continue reading “Book Feels: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Stone Rider by David Hofmeyr

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Stone Rider by David HofmeyrStone Rider by David Hofmeyr
Published by Delacorte Press on July 14th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the vein of The Outsiders and the early Western novels of Elmore Leonard, this inventive debut novel, a cross between the cult classic Mad Max movie series and Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, blends adrenaline-fueled action with an improbable yet tender romance to offer a rich and vivid portrayal of misfits and loners forced together in their struggle for a better life.Adam Stone wants freedom and peace. He wants a chance to escape Blackwater, the dust-bowl desert town he grew up in. Most of all, he wants the beautiful Sadie Blood. Alongside Sadie and the dangerous outsider Kane, Adam will ride the Blackwater Trail in a brutal race that will test them all, body and soul. Only the strongest will survive.The prize? A one-way ticket to Sky-Base and unimaginable luxury.And for a chance at this new life, Adam will risk everything.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

StoneRider

Stone Rider isn’t normally the type of book I would choose for myself, but when I had the opportunity to read and review an advance copy, I decided to take a chance based on the completely intriguing summary. It’s a complete understatement for me to say that I am SO glad I decided to read this book. Continue reading “Book Feels: Stone Rider by David Hofmeyr”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Devil You Know by Trish DollerThe Devil You Know by Trish Doller
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Violence, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

From critically-acclaimed author Trish Doller comes a powerful new psychological page-turner perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and Sara Zarr.Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it's just the risk she's been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions. A road trip fling turns terrifying in this contemporary story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

TheDevilYouKnow Continue reading “Book Feels: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller”

three-half-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Lion Heart by A.C. GaughenLion Heart by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on May 19th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Adaptations, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Historical, Love & Romance, Medieval, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief.Only the greatest loves can survive great danger. . . Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape, she learns that King Richard's life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine needs Scarlet's help to free him. For a lifelong thief, this newfound allegiance to the crown-her family-is a strange feeling.Scarlet knows that helping Eleanor will put her and those she loves back in Prince John's sights. Desperate not to risk anyone's life but her own, Scarlet formulates a plan to help save the king on her own. But fate-and her heart-won't allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long. Even if Scarlet and Rob can together stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England, will their love be enough to save them once and for all?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

LionHeart

WHAT I LOVED…

triangle border

The thing I loved so much about Lion Heart, is everything I love about the entire Scarlet series. It’s an exciting re-telling of the Robin Hood legend that immediately appealed to me, but what I really loved about this entire series is the true life historical facts and events that Gaughen wove into the story to make it an even more engaging and interesting. There was so much drama and political intrigue in Lion Heart and it was such a culmination of the first two books, that I couldn’t turn the pages quickly enough to find out how everything wrapped up. For those of you who have read Scarlet and particularly Lady Thief, you know how much this series can rip out your heart and stomp on it. I don’t think I have ever felt so gutted after reading a book as when I finished Lady Thief, so I was pretty nervous going into Lion Heart. I am so happy to say that Lion Heart wrapped up the series so beautifully and was the perfect mix of action and swoon, and was exactly what I was hoping for to end this epic tale. Continue reading “Book Feels: Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen”

five-stars
Sarah