Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia LevensellerDaughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, #1) by Tricia Levenseller
Published by Feiwel & Friends on February 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Pirates, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

This book kind of came out of nowhere for me. I initially noticed it for the cover. It was moody and badass so I mentally added Daughter of the Pirate King to my TBR. Then ALL OF A SUDDEN, my Goodreads and Twitter feeds started blowing up with mentioned of how addictive and fun of a read it was. Fortunately, I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy from the publisher (Thanks, Fierce Reads!!) so I pulled it from my TBR tower and dove right in. I was eager to see what all the excitement was about and if it really was as amazing as everyone was saying it was. So, was it? Keep reading for my answer. But first, as always, check out the epic mood board I created to get you in the piratey mood! YES, I said piratey and YES it’s word. At least it is now.

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole CastromanBlacksouls (Blackhearts, #2) by Nicole Castroman
Published by Simon Pulse on April 11th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical Fiction, Pirates, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean to life in this vibrant sequel to Blackhearts—the reimagined origin story of history’s most infamous pirate, Blackbeard.

Edward “Teach” Drummond is setting sail to the Caribbean as first mate on the most celebrated merchant ship in the British fleet—until he rebels against his captain. Mutiny is a capital offense and Teach knows it could cost him his life, but he believes it worth the risk in order to save his crew from the attacking Spanish ships.

Sailing on the same blue waters, Anne barely avoids the Spanish attack, making it safely to Nassau. But lawless criminals, corrupt politics, and dangerous intentions fill the crowded streets of this Caribbean port. Soon, Anne discovers that the man entrusted to keep the peace is quite possibly the most treacherous of them all—and he just happens to hold Teach’s fate in his terrifying hands.

Life and death hang in the balance when Teach and Anne are given a dangerous mission. It’s a mission that will test their love, loyalty and devotion, forcing them down a path neither one could have ever imagined.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Not gonna lie, I’ve been looking forward to this book for a LONG time. Ever since I read “Blackhearts” over a year ago and fell in love with Nicole Castroman‘s writing, I’ve been dying to read the sequel. You can read my review of Blackhearts here to see exactly how much I loved it and at the very end you’ll also see how nervous I was that there wouldn’t be a sequel. Thankfully, my worries were put to rest when I heard about “Blacksouls” and all I had to do was WAIT! So, was the wait worth it? Could I possibly love “Blacksouls” as much as I loved “Blackhearts”?

Continue reading “Book Feels: Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman”

five-stars
Sarah

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn EvesBlood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1) by Rosalyn Eves
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on March 28th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.
Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book.

I’m so excited to debut another new feature here at What Sarah Read, called Book Buzzin’! Every so often, I’ll feature an upcoming release that I’ve read recently that I think you may want to know more about. I’ll share some of the positive buzz surrounding it and also link to retailers where you can purchase the book and any pre-order swag you can get your hands on. Today, I’m buzzin’ about Rosalyn Eves‘ upcoming debut, “Blood Rose Rebellion“!

Continue reading “{NEW FEATURE} Book Buzzin’: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves”

Sarah

Book Feels Redux: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Book Feels Redux: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa TahirAn Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1) by Sabaa Tahir
Published by Razorbill on April 28th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 446
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Laia is a slave. 

Elias is a soldier. 

Neither is free.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

To celebrate the countdown to the release of “A Torch Against the Night” by Sabaa Tahir, I decided it would be fun to re-post my original review of “An Ember in the Ashes”, the book that started it all! If you haven’t read this amazing book, then this summer is the perfect time to do it, because “A Torch Against the night” releases on August 30th!

I was fortunate enough to receive an amazing mailing from my friends at Penguin Random House and Razorbill Books, that included a paperback of Ember, and ARC of Torch (YAHOO!) AND an amazing cuff that Laia (the main character of the series) would totally covet! It’s seriously the most amazing book mail I’ve ever received and got me even more excited for the release of Torch in just a couple of months. I didn’t think it was possible to be more excited than I already was. But I am, and now I get to share that excitement with all of YOU!

Torch box
Would you LOOK at all of this gorgeousness! Thank you SO much to Penguin Random House and Razorbill books for this amazing package!

Continue reading “Book Feels Redux: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Wolf by Wolf by Ryan GraudinWolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin
Series: ,
on October 20th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Alternate History, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Code Name Verity meets Inglourious Basterds in this fast-paced novel from the author of The Walled City.
The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor's ball.
Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year's only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin's brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael's every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Wolf by Wolf

triangle border

This book! Ohhh, how I loved this book! I’ve had a run of really great reads lately, and this one is at the top of the list. Wolf by Wolf’ is one of my very favorite books of the year, and I DEMAND that everyone drop everything and read it now. Yes! It’s THAT good!

giphy

So, what was it about ‘Wolf by Wolf’ that I loved so much? I guess I could take the easy way out and say EVERYTHING, which would be absolutely true. But, it wouldn’t do the story any justice, so I am going to try to coherently gather my thoughts for all of you in a way that describes how amazing it is.

In ‘Wolf by Wolf’, Graudin gives us a completely unique reading experience by masterfully blending historical fiction with a heavy dose of paranormal and sci-fi, and it all comes together to give the reader a fascinating alternate history to get lost in. There are so many ways that things could have ended up had Hitler prevailed in World War II, and Graudin gives us a terrifying glimpse of what could have been. As horrible as it all was, I couldn’t help but be fascinated with the alternate history she created for her readers. Graudin did such an amazing job with her world-building, it’s so rich and detailed that I couldn’t help but find myself completely immersed in the story from the very beginning. Graudin’s writing is haunting, vivid and breath-taking, which lent itself perfectly to the story of Yael and her mission to change the fate of the world.

Graudin gives us several stunning backdrops for her story; the bleak and wicked concentration camp where we first meet Yael, the wide and open deserts of the Middle East in which we come across some of the most treacherous parts of her journey, the colorful and celebratory people of India that are a bright spot in an otherwise miserable experience, and the mysterious and foreboding Imperial City where the climax of the story takes place. These places and so many more weave together to create a richly diverse and immersive reading experience.

I was drawn to all of the characters, and was 100% invested in their story lines. Yael was an amazing protagonist and I was so intrigued by her mix of vulnerability and strength, and also her tireless dedication to her mission. As a matter of fact, ALL of the characters in this book were so complex and multifaceted. I really enjoy books that manage to capture the true essence of each character, and what I loved about ‘Wolf by Wolf’ was that even though I may not have agreed with all of the characters and their actions, I was still given the opportunity to understand where they were coming from. Because of this, I found myself deeply invested in the outcome of the story. Speaking of outcome, ‘Wolf by Wolf’ ends on serious cliffhanger and I was SO not expecting it to end the way it did. So, kudos to Graudin for keeping me on my toes.

FINAL THOUGHTS…

triangle border

loved-it

‘Wolf by Wolf’ has become one of my most highly recommended books of the year! I want everyone to read it, so they can experience its greatness for themselves. Graudin’s talent shines in this novel!

arrow2

About Ryan Graudin

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina, with a severe case of wanderlust. When she’s not traveling, she’s busy writing and spending time with her husband and wolf dog. She is the author of the All That Glows series, The Walled City, and Wolf by Wolf.Ryan Graudin grew up in Charleston and graduated from the College of Charleston with a degree in Creative Writing in 2009. She is the author of Wolf By Wolf, The Walled City and the All That Glows series. She resides near Charleston with her husband and wolf-dog. You can find her online at www.ryangraudin.com.

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay KristoffIlluminae (The Illuminae Files, #1) by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 20th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Science Fiction, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 608
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.This afternoon, her planet was invaded.The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

Illuminae Continue reading “Book Feels: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels Lite: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels Lite: The Young Elites by Marie LuThe Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) by Marie Lu
Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers on October 7th 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 355
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.
Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.
Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.
Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.
Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.
It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

TheYoungElites

Continue reading “Book Feels Lite: The Young Elites by Marie Lu”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Book Feels: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on September 1st 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Young Adult
Pages: 648
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series contrinues Celaena's epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

QueenofShadows Continue reading “Book Feels: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas”

five-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Vengeance Road by Erin BowmanVengeance Road by Erin Bowman
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on September 1st 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Historical, Love & Romance, Western, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.      In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation.   

VR

Continue reading “Book Feels: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman”

four-stars
Sarah

Book Feels: Stone Rider by David Hofmeyr

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: Stone Rider by David HofmeyrStone Rider by David Hofmeyr
Published by Delacorte Press on July 14th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the vein of The Outsiders and the early Western novels of Elmore Leonard, this inventive debut novel, a cross between the cult classic Mad Max movie series and Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, blends adrenaline-fueled action with an improbable yet tender romance to offer a rich and vivid portrayal of misfits and loners forced together in their struggle for a better life.Adam Stone wants freedom and peace. He wants a chance to escape Blackwater, the dust-bowl desert town he grew up in. Most of all, he wants the beautiful Sadie Blood. Alongside Sadie and the dangerous outsider Kane, Adam will ride the Blackwater Trail in a brutal race that will test them all, body and soul. Only the strongest will survive.The prize? A one-way ticket to Sky-Base and unimaginable luxury.And for a chance at this new life, Adam will risk everything.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

StoneRider

Stone Rider isn’t normally the type of book I would choose for myself, but when I had the opportunity to read and review an advance copy, I decided to take a chance based on the completely intriguing summary. It’s a complete understatement for me to say that I am SO glad I decided to read this book. Continue reading “Book Feels: Stone Rider by David Hofmeyr”

five-stars
Sarah