On My Nightstand…{2}

Happy Monday, friends! I’m here to start your week off right with a second helping of On My Nightstand! I got some really great enthusiasm and feedback when I debuted this feature a couple of months ago, so I figured it was time for another installment! So, what’s this feature all about?

 I LOVE discovering what people are currently reading and adding it to my TBR! So, I decided that I’d create a feature here at What Sarah Read that highlights the books that are currently sitting on my nightstand (literally) and waiting to be read. What I really hope is that maybe you’ll discover a new book or two and add it to YOUR nightstand!

Here’s the five books currently sitting on my nightstand. It’s all upcoming releases I’ve been dying to get my hands on and a timely reread. Check it out!

DarkFever by Karen Marie Moning

“My name is MacKayla, Mac for short. I’m a sidhe-seer, one who sees the Fae, a fact I accepted only recently and very reluctantly.

My philosophy is pretty simple – any day nobody’s trying to kill me is a good day in my book. I haven’t had many good days lately. Not since the walls between Man and Fae came down. But then, there’s not a sidhe-seer alive who’s had a good day since then.”

When MacKayla’s sister was murdered, she left a single clue to her death, a cryptic message on Mac’s cel phone. Journeying to Ireland in search of answers, Mac is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to master a power she had no idea she possessed – a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae.

As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysteriou Jericho…while at the same time, the ruthless V’lane – an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women – closes in on her. As the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: to find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book – because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control both worlds in their hands.

PRE-ORDER: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIE BOUND

I read this book Over Ten years and I don’t remember a ton about it. I do remember that i LOVED it! since it takes place in Dublin I figured it would be a perfect time to re-read before I leave for my trip!

The Names They gave us by Emery Lord

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters—in faith, in love, and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp—one for troubled kids—Lucy isn’t sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

PRE-ORDER: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIE BOUND

 

 

I’m about halfway through this one and as with every Emery Lord book I’ve read…I’m obsessed! it’s an emotional and thought-provoking book that I can relate to in so many ways. Definitely add this one to your TBR!

Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts

Being a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father, Lord Kent of the Western Province, loved her as a child, but cast her aside as soon as he had trueborn children.

At sixteen, Tilla spends her days exploring long-forgotten tunnels beneath the castle with her stablehand half brother, Jax, and her nights drinking with the servants, passing out on Jax’s floor while her castle bedroom collects dust. Tilla secretly longs to sit by her father’s side, resplendent in a sparkling gown, enjoying feasts with the rest of the family. Instead, she sits with the other bastards, like Miles of House Hampstedt, an awkward scholar who’s been in love with Tilla since they were children.

Then, at a feast honoring the visiting princess Lyriana, the royal shocks everyone by choosing to sit at the Bastards’ Table. Before she knows it, Tilla is leading the sheltered princess on a late-night escapade. Along with Jax, Miles, and fellow bastard Zell, a Zitochi warrior from the north, they stumble upon a crime they were never meant to witness.

Rebellion is brewing in the west, and a brutal coup leaves Lyriana’s uncle, the Royal Archmagus, dead—with Lyriana next on the list. The group flees for their lives, relentlessly pursued by murderous mercenaries; their own parents have put a price on their heads to prevent the king and his powerful Royal Mages from discovering their treachery.

The bastards band together, realizing they alone have the power to prevent a civil war that will tear their kingdom apart—if they can warn the king in time. And if they can survive the journey . . .

PURCHASE: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIE BOUND

I’ve heard a ton of great buzz about “Royal Bastards”. any book that’s billed as a perfect for fans of “Game of Thrones” is a must read for me!I can’t wait to check this one out!

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

PURCHASE : AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIE BOUND

Heather is one of my all-time favorite authors and I’ve been anticipating this book for a long time. Heather drew from her own experiences in this book and I’m so proud of her for putting this book out in to the world.

Letters to the lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he’s trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he’s opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they’re not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.

PURCHASE: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIE BOUND

Here’s Another one I’ve heard a ton of amazing things about. Virtually all of my book buddies have loved “Letters to the Lost”. when they start raving about a book, I Know I need it in my life!

Have you read any of the books on my nightstand? I’d love to hear what you thought of them…spoiler free of course!!

Sarah

3 comments for “On My Nightstand…{2}

  1. Loving your nightstand picks! I had no idea Demetrios drew from her own personal experience for Bad Romance. I’m glad I was able to get a eGalley and can’t wait to get around to it myself. Darkfever may still be on sale on Kindle, will be checking that out after this comment lol Just added Letters to the Lost to my TBR, sounds right up my alley 😉 You’ve managed to add to my TBR 😩😆🙌🏼

  2. I hope you enjoy Royal Bastards!

  3. Oh man, my nightstand is crammed. You ready?

    PILE FROM THE LIBRARY: Ramona Blue, Genevieve’s War, The Light We Lost, and Troubled Waters
    PILE FROM MY PERSONAL LIBRARY: Last Chance Saloon, Dreamer’s Pool, This Adventure Ends, Like a River Glorious, Miss You…I think that’s it?

    I’m interested to hear what you think about Bad Romance!!

    What a neat feature! I may do this too sometime, if that’s okay?

Leave a Reply