Book Feels: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Feels: The Devil You Know by Trish DollerThe Devil You Know by Trish Doller
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Violence, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads
three-half-stars

From critically-acclaimed author Trish Doller comes a powerful new psychological page-turner perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and Sara Zarr.Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it's just the risk she's been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions. A road trip fling turns terrifying in this contemporary story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases -
-a space where I share my thoughts and feelings on upcoming and recent book releases –

TheDevilYouKnow

WHAT I LOVED…

triangle border

This book is most-definitely a thriller, and I loved how intense and creepy it was. There were twists and turns, frightening moments and more often than not I found myself wondering what the heck was going on. Doller does a great job of setting up the story and building the characters, so that you know enough to be invested in the story, but still left wondering what exactly is going on. I was most intrigued by Cadie’s character, even though the two cousins are what really drive the conflict in the plot. She’s so desperate to get out of her life and explore the unfamiliar that I was so confused but intrigued by the decisions she made…more on that later. I also loved the fact that you never really do know what’s going on with those cousins for most of the book. Are they innocent travellers Cadie bumps into along the way, or devious criminals looking for an easy target?

WHAT DIDN’T WORK…

triangle border

I had a tough time understanding Cadie’s motivations at one point in the book. She gets some pretty clear clues that something isn’t right and I found myself wondering quite often why she was making some of the decisions she did. I took the dedication at the front of the book to heart…”To all the girls who know what they want. And to all the girls who don’t”, and tried to give Cadie the benefit of the doubt and realize that she had different motivations than I would. Still, it took me out of the story just a bit to disagree so completely with her choices.

MY “BOOK FEELS” MOMENT…

triangle border

The last 75 pages of this book are INTENSE! I was on the train while I finished it, and I think the person next to me thought I was having a panic attack. Between the uncomfortable seat shifting, gasps of horror and the fact that my jaw was practically on the floor, they seriously must have thought I was kind of crazy. My heart was racing as the story came to its climax and I was literally on the edge of my seat!

FINAL THOUGHTS…

triangle border

liked-it

‘The Devil You know’ is the best kind of creepy, filled with clever twists and random turns. It’s A fun summer read that will leave you on the edge of your seat.

About Trish Doller

I have been writing for as long as I can remember, but didn't try to be a published author until more recently, something for which everyone should be thankful.

I was born in Berlin, Germany (when there was still a wall), but grew up in Ohio and graduated with a degree in journalism from Ohio State University. I've worked as a radio personality on a morning show and as a journalist for my hometown newspaper. Along the way, I married someone really awesome and followed him around the country from Maine to Michigan and back to Ohio. We also had a couple of kids who have grown into outstanding human beings.

These days I live, work, and sail in Florida with a relentlessly optimist border collie and an ex-pirate, but have dreams of running away to Grenada and never coming back.

three-half-stars
Sarah

2 comments for “Book Feels: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

  1. I always love a good thriller! This seems like the perfect fit. Gonna have to get to it soon, great review! <3

  2. […] the author who brought us the swoony and feels filled Where the Stars Still Shine, the super creepy The Devil You Know and the book I STILL need to read (cause everyone I know raves about it) Something Like Normal. […]

Leave a Reply