Fangirl Friday with Kate from Nauti Girl Reads

Welcome friends, to another edition of Fangirl Friday! Our special guest blogger is Kate from Nauti Girl Reads! Kate is a fellow New England girl and her fangirl levels knows no bounds! She’s an avid lover of YA and is never afraid of shouting about her obsessions from the rooftops…AND I LOVE IT! Seriously check out her blog and Twitter (linked above) to learn all about her faves and you’ll see why I’ve formally inducted her in to the Fangirl Friday Hall of Fame!

Continue reading “Fangirl Friday with Kate from Nauti Girl Reads”

Sarah

Fangirl Friday with Holly from The Fox’s Hideaway

Are you a HUGE fan of The 100? Have you heard of the CW show The 100 and want to learn more about it? Do you have absolutely no idea what The 100 even is? Well then, today’s post is just for you! I’ve got Holly from The Fox’s Hideaway here today so she can share her absolute LOVE for this show with all of you! I know this post may be old news to a LOT of you, since this show has a SERIOUSLY devoted fandom! Season four ended this past May but you have until sometime early next year to get all caught up. I still need to finish season three and watch all of season four and after reading Holly’s post, I need to do that sooner rather than later. Thank you SO much, Holly for such a fabulous Fangirl Friday post!

Continue reading “Fangirl Friday with Holly from The Fox’s Hideaway”

Sarah

Fangirl Friday with Brianna

Ok, guys! We’re all in for a treat today! If you’re a fan of Harry Potter, and I have a feeling you are, then today’s post from Brianna (tumblr) is going to feed your little Harry Potter fangirl (and fanboy) heart! She’s got an amazing list of Potter fanfic that totally blew me away and, true confession here, I’ve only read the first book in the series. I KNOW, I KNOW…I’m a horrible book nerd and should be shunned. BUT…back to the topic at hand…this fanfic listing is seriously epic and if you have even just a little bit of love for the franchise then you MUST check this list out.

Continue reading “Fangirl Friday with Brianna”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Renegades by Marissa Meyer

Blog Tour: Renegades by Marissa MeyerRenegades (Renegades, #1) by Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends on November 7th 2017
Genres: Action & Adventure, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Young Adult
Pages: 576
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

Secret Identities.
Extraordinary Powers.
She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone...except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice—and in Nova. But Nova's allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

Have no fear…THE RENEGADES are here! Well…ALMOST! Don’t worry though, you’ve got less than two weeks to go until Marissa Meyer‘s epic superhero novel hits shelves, and I am here to tell you it is DEFINITELY worth the wait! Renegades feels like a cross between Marvel and X-Men, but with a fun YA Vibe and super(see what I did there) intriguing storyline.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Renegades by Marissa Meyer”

Sarah

Fangirl Friday with Alexandra from Milky Way of Books

Happy Friday, fellow fangirls and fanboys! I’m SUPER excited to welcome Alexandra from Milky Way of Books to the blog today. Alexandra is from allll the way over in beautiful Greece and I may be just a teeny bit jealous (ok…a LOT jealous) that she gets to call such a beautiful country her home. She’s here today to share some of her favorite spooky reads just in time for HALLOWEEEN! So grab that Pumpkin Spice Latte, curl up in a cozy blanket and be prepared to get thoroughly creeped out!

Continue reading “Fangirl Friday with Alexandra from Milky Way of Books”

Sarah

On My Nightstand…{5}

It’s almost the end of October, but you’d never know it from the weather here in New England! Since its felt more like summer this month, it’s been tough getting into the Fall spirit…whine! It looks like the weather is going to go back to normal soon though, so I can FINALLY bust out my sweaters and tall boots. I’m also daydreaming about catching up on my TBR with some warm tea and a cozy blanket. So what better time than right now to share another edition of On My Nightstand! So, what’s this feature all about?

I LOVE discovering what people are currently reading and adding it to my TBR! So, I decided that I’d create a feature here at What Sarah Read that highlights the books that are currently sitting on my nightstand (literally) and waiting to be read. What I really hope is that maybe you’ll discover a new book or two and add it to YOUR nightstand!

– fall tbr –

Here’s the five books currently sitting on my nightstand. It’s a great mix of upcoming releases and a couple of recent releases, including one super spooky read perfect for the Halloween season!

Continue reading “On My Nightstand…{5}”

Sarah

Fangirl Friday: My Latest Obsessions

Welcome back, friends! I hope you’re loving Fangirl Friday as much as I do. It’s seriously one of my very favorite features on this little ol’ blog of mine and I’m so thrilled with all of the amazing posts that my friends and fellow bloggers have contributed. We’re nearing the end of 2017 and while I still have just TWO slots left for 2017, I don’t have anyone signed up to post in 2018. So, we have two options…

  • Fangirl Friday goes on a temporary hiatus (with posts from me every so often when the mood strikes)
  • I bombard you all with calls for sign-ups so we can keep the momentum going in the new year!

Let me know what you think I should do in the comments below!

In the meantime, today’s post is from yours truly! I was a flake and totally forgot to schedule someone for today, so I decided that I would share two of my latest hardcore obsessions with you.

Continue reading “Fangirl Friday: My Latest Obsessions”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor {GIVEAWAY}

Blog Tour: Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor {GIVEAWAY}Akata Warrior (Akata Witch, #2) by Nnedi Okorafor
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Magical Realism, Young Adult
Pages: 477
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

A year ago, Sunny Nwazue, an American-born girl Nigerian girl, was inducted into the secret Leopard Society. As she began to develop her magical powers, Sunny learned that she had been chosen to lead a dangerous mission to avert an apocalypse, brought about by the terrifying masquerade, Ekwensu. Now, stronger, feistier, and a bit older, Sunny is studying with her mentor Sugar Cream and struggling to unlock the secrets in her strange Nsibidi book.

Eventually, Sunny knows she must confront her destiny. With the support of her Leopard Society friends, Orlu, Chichi, and Sasha, and of her spirit face, Anyanwu, she will travel through worlds both visible and invisible to the mysteries town of Osisi, where she will fight a climactic battle to save humanity.

Much-honored Nnedi Okorafor, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy awards, merges today’s Nigeria with a unique world she creates. Akata Warrior blends mythology, fantasy, history and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound.

A few months ago I shared a mood board I created for the “Akata Witch” blog tour and I’m so thrilled to be back to celebrate the release of its sequel, “Akata Warrior”. Because both books feature spell-binding magic and legend woven into the story of Sunny and her journey, and I was inspired to do a little research to discover and learn more about West African mythology. What I found was a vast tapestry of stories that helped shape an amazing culture.

P.S. Make sure you read all the way to the end of this post for
a chance to win your very own hardcover copy of
“AKATA WARRIOR”!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor {GIVEAWAY}”

Sarah

Fangirl Friday with Ellie from By Ellie M

Hi friends! It’s Friday and we all know what that means! It’s another FANGIRL FRIDAY! Today I’m welcoming fellow Boston-area blogger, Ellie from By Ellie M. She’s here today to tell us all about her obsession with k-dramas! If you’re like me and have no idea what a k-drama is, I looked it up for you! Entertainment Weekly put together this handy beginner’s guide with all the info you need to know. But I found this blurb that sums it up well… “A Kdrama is a South Korean scripted television show and it doesn’t have to belong to the genre of drama–it can be a romance, thriller or comedy too.” (source) And for the rest of the details, our friend Ellie has you covered below!

PS: I still have a few guest spots for this feature left for the year, so if you want to make a special appearance and fangirl over some of your faves, be sure to sign up using the form at the end of this post.

Continue reading “Fangirl Friday with Ellie from By Ellie M”

Sarah

Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}

Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress, #1) by Julie C. Dao
on January 1st 1970
Genres: Asia, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound
Goodreads

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

I’m so excited to be the latest stop on the blog tour for Julie C. Dao‘s debut novel, “Forest of a Thousand Lanterns” . This book is an epic and original retelling of the Evil Queen legend and is every bit as dark and thrilling. This book captured me from the opening pages and I was pulled in to the story of a young woman discovering that her life may hold more than she bargained for. Xifeng is the anti-hero/villain that you love to, well, LOVE. She’s a complicated, determined and multi-faceted character, and reading along as her struggle with her increasingly conflicting feelings was completely addictive.

P.S. Make sure you read all the way to the end of this post for
a chance to win your very own hardcover copy of
“Forest of a thousand lanterns”!

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao {GIVEAWAY}”

Sarah